CMA Songwriters Series Returns To Chicago With Host Brett James Featuring Jim Collins & Lee Thomas Miller

The CMA Songwriters Series returns to Chicago at Joe’s Bar Thursday, July 30. If you are not familiar with what the CMA Songwriters Series is, it is when some of the top songwriters in country music share the stories behind their greatest hits. This CMA Songwriters Series features songwriter and host Brett James performing alongside Jim Collins and Lee Thomas Miller.


Brett James is a Grammy Award-winning producer and songwriter who has written more than 300 songs recorded by major label recording artists. He is a well-recognized name on the Billboard Country Chart with 13 No. 1 songs and a number of Top 20 singles to his credit. He is the only songwriter to appear on Billboard Magazine’s Top 10 Country songwriters list for five consecutive years. Artists who have recorded songs penned by James include Backstreet Boys, Dierks Bentley, Jon Bon Jovi, and Chicago. He received a Grammy Award in 2007 for Best Country Song for “Jesus Take The Wheel,” recorded by Carrie Underwood, which was also nominated for the 2006 CMA Song of the Year Award. James was most recently nominated for CMA Song of the Year in 2014 for Bentley’s “I Hold On.”

Headshot for Jim Collins

Jim Collins has released three studio albums and has charted numerous singles on Billboard’s Hot Country Singles & Tracks Chart. More than 150 of his songs have been cut, including “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy” and “The Good Stuff” by Kenny Chesney; “Big Green Tractor” by Jason Aldean; and “It Just Comes Natural” by George Strait. He has received two Grammy Award nominations with “I Don’t Feel Like Loving You Today” recorded by Gretchen Wilson and “Are you Gonna Kiss Me Or Not” recorded by Thompson Square. He also wrote Easton Corbin’s current Top 10 single, “Baby Be My Love Song.”


Lee Thomas Miller is credited with seven No. 1 songs and won the 2009 CMA Song of the Year Award with “In Color” co-written and recorded by Jamey Johnson. In 2008 he was nominated for CMA Song of the Year for “You’re Gonna Miss This” recorded by Trace Adkins. He has also written hit singles for Brad Paisley (“The World,” “Perfect Storm,” and “Crushin’ It”), Tim McGraw (“Southern Girl”), and Garth Brooks (“People Loving People”). Miller serves as President of the Board for the Nashville Songwriter’s Association International.

Tickets for the July 30 CMA Songwriters Series at Joe’s Bar are on sale now. To get your tickets, visit

For more information on the CMA Songwriters Series, visit

Whiskey Riff is the most entertaining country site…ever.