The Living Legend Himself, Willie Nelson, Releases 97th Studio ‘A Beautiful Time’ On His 89th Birthday

Willie Nelson country music
Pamela Springsteen

Though there was never any real question, Willie Nelson has still got it.

His 97th studio album, A Beautiful Time, is out today on his 89th birthday, and it’s chock-full of wisdom and life lessons in a way that only the master of songwriting can put it.

On “Live Every Day,” he encourages the listener to live every single day like it’s their last, because “one day you’re gonna be right.” It hits a little bit harder coming from a living legend like Willie, who is really one of the only qualified artists to be dishing out advice like that on a song.

“Don’t Touch Me There” allows Willie to show off his softer side, where he admits that his heart is softer than one might think. Even though he’s older now, he still feels everything as he did when he was younger, and can’t bare the thought of someone playing games with his heart and mind.

And on “I Don’t Go To Funerals,” Willie admits that he doesn’t plan on going to his own funeral, but looks forward to the day he can see old friends like Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson and Patsy Cline.

With the release of this record lining up on his 89th birthday, it’s cool to hear him sing about the day he can reunite with some of the people who he loved the most in his life (years from now, of course).

He previously released “I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die”“Energy Follows Thought” and “Tower Of Song” and “Dusty Bottles” from the new album.

There’s not much better than waking up on new music Friday to some new tunes from Willie, and per the usual, he delivers solid tunes that still blow all the youngsters out of the water. Hey, you don’t get to be a country icon without being the best with every single release, no matter your age.

As he’s proven time again (and is extremely evident on this record), age really is just a number, but it comes with a lot of wisdom and unique life lessons that put Willie a cut above everybody else… and always will.

Do yourself a favor and check out his new record today.

And a massive happy birthday to the red headed stranger himself:

“Live Every Day”

“Don’t Touch Me There”

“I Don’t Go To Funerals”

A Beautiful Time tracklist:

1.  I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die
2.  My Heart Was a Dancer
3.  Energy Follows Thought
4.  Dreamin’ Again
5.  I Don’t Go to Funerals
6.  A Beautiful Time
7.  We’re Not Happy (Till You’re Not Happy)
8.  Dusty Bottles
9.  Me and My Partner
10. Tower of Song
11. Live Every Day
12. Don’t Touch Me There
13. With a Little Help From My Friends
14. Leave You With a Smile

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock