‘Stoned Cold Country’ Documentary Takes You Inside The Studio For The Making Of Rolling Stones Tribute Album

Eric Church country music
Jody Domingue

This was one of my favorite projects released this year, and now, you can watch the process behind how it all came together.

A wide array of artists teamed up for the Stoned Cold Country covers album in March, which was a tribute to The Rolling Stones in honor of the iconic rock band’s 60th anniversary.

Producer Robert Deaton says it was meant to be country music’s “thank you” to the Stones, which has influenced so much of this genre, as well:

“This album is Country Music’s thank you to The Rolling Stones for 60 years of inspiration and providing the soundtrack of our lives. While recording the record, I was reminded that this is a showcase and spotlight on the best we have to offer as a genre.

From our artists to all of the musicians that played on the record, we boldly state that Country Music is second to none when it comes to artists of integrity and creativity.”

As someone who’s a fan of both country and rock, I absolutely loved hearing artists like Koe WetzelEric ChurchLainey Wilson, Ashley McBryde Steve Earle, Marcus King, The War and Treaty, Brothers Osborne, Brooks & Dunn and more sing some of my favorite Stones songs, and now, they’re taking us inside the studio.

A new documentary, also titled Stoned Cold Country, features most of the aforementioned artists and the process of how all 14 Stones classic tracks and vocals were recorded in the same room.

There are also interviews with them too, as Eric, Ashley, Lainey and more talk about the influence of the Stones and how that music has inspired their own musical careers.

The film is now available to watch on Amazon Prime Video, Google Play, YouTube Rentals and more, and I know what I’ll be watching tonight.

It looks really well-done, and if you’re a music nerd like me, this is a must-watch documentary for sure.

You can watch the trailer here:

“Gimme Shelter”

“Shine A Light”

“(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”

Stone Cold Country Tracklist:

1.     “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Ashley McBryde
2.     “Honky Tonk Women” – Brooks & Dunn
3.     “Dead Flowers” – Maren Morris
4.     “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty
5.     “Miss You” – Jimmie Allen
6.     “Tumbling Dice” – Elle King
7.     “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” – Marcus King
8.     “Wild Horses” – Little Big Town
9.     “Paint It Black” – Zac Brown Band
10.  “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” – Lainey Wilson
11.  “Sympathy for the Devil” – Elvie Shane
12.  “Angie” – Steve Earle
13.  “Gimme Shelter” – Eric Church
14.  “Shine A Light” – Koe Wetzel

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock