Lainey Wilson Brings Her Own, Unique Flare To Cover Of The Rolling Stones Classic “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”

Lainey Wilson country music
Alysse Gafkjen

Lainey Wilson rocks.

And she delivered an awesome cover of The Rolling Stones’ classic “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” as part of the forthcoming tribute album Stoned Cold Country, which is due out everywhere on March 17th.

Written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, it was included on the Stones’ 1969 Let It Bleed album, and peaked at #42 on the US Billboard Hot 100 in 1973.

Of course, it became one of their signature songs and an all-time rock classic, and Lainey certainly brings her own unique bell bottom country flare to the song that, of course, sounds great.

Lainey says it was an honor to record one of their most iconic tracks:

“The Rolling Stones are global music icons. To have the opportunity to record one of their tracks was an incredible honor for me.

I had so much fun recording this track and I’m so grateful that I got to bring my bell bottom country flare to one of their greatest hits.” 

Producer Robert Deaton says the project as a whole is country music’s “thank you” to the Stones:

“This album is Country Music’s thank you to The Rolling Stones for 60 years of inspiration and providing the soundtrack of our lives. While recording the record, I was reminded that this is a showcase and spotlight on the best we have to offer as a genre.

From our artists to all of the musicians that played on the record, we boldly state that Country Music is second to none when it comes to artists of integrity and creativity.”

The tribute album will honor the 60th anniversary of the legendary rock band, and features other performances from Jimmie Allen, Brooks & Dunn, Brothers Osborne, Eric Church, Steve Earle, Elle King, Marcus King, Little Big Town, Ashley McBryde, Maren Morris, Elvie Shane, Koe Wetzel, The War And Treaty, & Zac Brown Band.

I’m certainly looking forward to hearing how artists like Erich Church, Ashley McBryde, Koe Wetzel and more inject their own style into their covers, but this one’s gonna be hard to beat…

They previously released Brothers Osborne and War & Treaty’s take on ‘It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)”:

Stoned Cold Country Tracklist:

1. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Ashley McBryde
2. “Honky Tonk Women” – Brooks & Dunn
3. “Dead Flowers” – Maren Morris
4. “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty
5. “Miss You” – Jimmie Allen
6. “Tumbling Dice” – Elle King
7. “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” – Marcus King
8. “Wild Horses” – Little Big Town
9. “Paint It Black” – Zac Brown Band
10. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” – Lainey Wilson
11. “Sympathy for the Devil” – Elvie Shane
12. “Angie” – Steve Earle
13. “Gimme Shelter” – Eric Church
14. “Shine A Light” – Koe Wetzel

“You Can’t Always Get What You Want”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock