The Panhandlers Announce Second Studio Album, ‘Tough Country’

The Panhandlers country music

The Panhandlers are BACK.

The Texas country supergroup consisting of Josh Abbott, William Clark Green, John Baumann and Flatland Cavalry frontman Cleto Cordero are gearing up to release their second studio album, Tough Country.

Announced today, the record will consist of 14 songs, and is due out everywhere on March 3rd.

They shared the news on Instagram, saying it’s been in the works for quite some time now and they can’t wait for everyone to hear it:

“We’ve had this one up our sleeves for a bit, and we couldn’t be more excited to share it with the world.

‘Tough Country’ will be available everywhere March 3rd. Pre-save link in our bio!”

Last year, the guys put out their four-song West Texas Is The Best Texas EP, which was their first batch of new music together in over two years, and included the lead single “Where Cotton Is King,” as well as “The Chilton Song,” “Midland Jamboree” and the title track, all of which are featured on the full-length record.

Cleto shared a few of his own thoughts on the new project in a separate post on Instagram, too, saying that he thinks this album will top their debut 2020 self-titled debut… which is saying a lot, so it’s definitely one to look forward to:

“HOWDY ALL, In one month @thepanhandlers are releasing a brand new full length album ‘Tough Country.’ I am a big fan of the first record we made but I think this one tops it. Can’t wait for you to hear it! Save The Date: March 3, 2023

P.S – From an indie musician to you: Thank you for all the love, support and for allowing us to live out this dream, as some anonymous poet once said, ‘of making shit up for a living.’ We couldn’t do it without YOU!”

And if I know anything about these guys and their music both individually and as a supergroup, this new record will be full of pedal steel, fiddle, banjo and more, so go ahead and mark it on the calendar…

Tough Country tracklist:

1. “Flat Land”
2. “Where Cotton Is King”
3. “West Texas Is The Best Texas”
4. “Midland Jamboree”
5. “Tough Country”
6. “Moonlight in Marfa”
7. “Lajitas’
8. “Valentine, For Valentines”
9. “Santa Fe”
10. “The Chilton Song”
11. “The Last Gentleman In Southwest Texas”
12. “Last Hangover”
13. “The Corner Comedian”
14. “I Got Your Back Dog”

“Where Cotton Is King”

“West Texas Is The Best Texas”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock