Kacey Musgraves To Release “Too Good To Be True” This Friday

Kacey Musgraves country music
Kacey Musgraves/Kelly Christine Photo

Ahead of her Saturday Night Live performance this weekend, Kacey Musgraves is releasing a new song.

The Texas native will take the SNL stage for the third time alongside host Sydney Sweeney, ahead of the release of her fourth major label studio album Deeper Well, which will be out everywhere on March 15th.

And according to a fan account on X (Twitter), Kacey is also putting out another new tune from the album called “Too Good to be True” on Friday, which is seemingly confirmed by a hint on Amazon music that shows the song’s release date as 2/29/24.

From a marketing standpoint, it makes a lot of sense given the SNL hype, and while Kacey herself hasn’t officially confirmed it, I would be willing to bet it’s happening:

Kacey previously released the title track, which is a stunning, quintessential Kacey, very honest song about growing up, experiencing life, and ultimately wanting and demanding more for yourself, and I’ve had it on repeat since it came out a few weeks ago.

And in terms of the sound of Deeper Well as a whole, Kacey explained in an interview with Zane Lowe that her self-proclaimed “divorce album” Star-Crossed leaned into harsher, pop synths, and with Deeper Well, she focused more on softer sounds.

It was interesting that she explained there were “no punches pulled” here, and that they’re more classic-sounding songs overall:

“That album was definitely a more specific thing. It was post-divorce, it was really specific to that relationship, and it was something, creatively, that I felt like I really needed to do. And it was me playing with different harsher sounds and synths and stuff, and having fun.

That’s one side of me. I think I was craving a bit of some softer songs. I didn’t even know what I wanted to do, but I knew that I wanted to get back to that organic wooden instrument place and just no punches pulled. Not that I ever tried to do that, I’m just saying just songs, classic songs.”

The album was produced by Kacey alongside Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk and recorded at Electric Lady studio in New York City, and features a 14-song tracklist.

“Deeper Well”

Deeper Well tracklist:

1. Cardinal
2. Deeper Well
3. Too Good to be True
4. Moving Out
5. Giver / Taker
6. Sway
7. Dinner with Friends
8. Heart of the Woods
9. Jade Green
10. The Architect
11. Lonely Millionaire
12. Heaven Is
13. Anime Eyes
14. Nothing to be Scared Of

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock