George Strait, Chris Stapleton, Luke Combs & More To Be Featured On Tom Petty Tribute Album, ‘Petty Country’

George Strait Willie Nelson country music
Jason Kempin/Getty Images

An absolutely star-studded lineup.

Today, it was announced that some of the biggest names in country music are teaming up for a tribute album for the late, great Tom Petty called Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty.

Willie Nelson and his son Lukas Nelson are featured on “Angel Dream #2,” Dolly Parton is covering “Southern Accents,” George Strait’s live rendition of “You Wreck Me” will be included, in addition to songs reimagined by Chris Stapleton, Marty Stuart, Lainey Wilson and Wynonna Judd and many more

Two former Heartbreakers, Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench will also appear on the album on “Ways to Be Wicked” and “Don’t Come Around Here No More,” which features Margo Price and Rhiannon Giddens, respectively.

Yeah, it’s going to be kick*ss…

I’m really looking forward to hearing each and every one of these songs, and today, the first one is out which finds Dierks Bentley covering “American Girl.” Of Tom Petty’s connection to country music and southern roots in general, Dierks says:

“Petty’s southern roots shined through across his songwriting and storytelling. He might not have ever been considered as country, but you can’t go into a bar in Nashville without hearing this song.

It is one of the greatest songs in a life’s work of great American songs. The spirit of this woman, the idea of such relentless hope – and disappointment – ignites such a spark. Jon (Randall) and I were driven to make that feeling of American roots stand tall.”

Released in 1976, “American Girl” was the second single from Petty’s debut Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers album, and while it never had a ton of radio success at the time, it still went on to be one of the band’s most iconic hits.

The full album is slated for release on May 31st, and you can listen to Dierks’ version of “American Girl” below.

And the all-star cast, which is sure to be one of the most intriguing projects released in 2024.

Petty Country tracklist:

1. “I Should Have Known It” – Chris Stapleton
2. “Wildflowers” – Thomas Rhett
3. “Runnin’ Down a Dream” – Luke Combs
4. “Southern Accents” – Dolly Parton
5. “Here Comes My Girl” – Justin Moore
6. “American Girl” – Dierks Bentley
7. “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” – Lady A
8. “I Forgive It All” – Jamey Johnson
9. “I Won’t Back Down” – Brothers Osborne
10. “Refugee” – Wynonna Judd & Lainey Wilson
11. “Angel Dream #2” – Willie Nelson & Lukas Nelson
12. “Learning to Fly” – Eli Young Band
13. “Breakdown” – Ryan Hurd feat. Carly Pearce
14. “Yer So Bad” – Steve Earle
15. “Ways to Be Wicked” – Margo Price & Mike Campbell
16. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” – Midland
17. “Free Fallin'” – The Cadillac Three feat. Breland
18. “I Need To Know” – Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives
19. “Don’t Come Around Here No More” – Rhiannon Giddens feat. Benmont Tench
20. “You Wreck Me (Live)” – George Strait

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock