West Virginia Releases Electric Hype Video Featuring Charles Wesley Godwin’s “Cue Country Roads”

West Virginia
West Virginia Football

College football season is in full swing.

You can feel it in the air, quite literally, as temperatures start to drop and it begins to finally feel like fall and football season. Step into any bar or on any college campus on a Saturday this time of year, and the energy is palpable.

The tailgates, the rivalries, the competition; there’s just nothing like letting a bunch of 18 year olds take control of your emotions for four months straight.

With no top 25 matchups on the Week 3 slate, one of the most anticipated games will be Saturday night’s rivalry game between West Virginia University and the University of Pittsburgh. Dubbed the Backyard Brawl, these two teams have played each other 105 times since they first met in 1895, with Pitt taking the most recent meeting last year 38-31.

With the Brawl taking place in Morgantown, WV this week, the Mountaineers are currently 2.5 point favorites.

To build anticipation for the game, the West Virginia football program posted an absolutely electric hype video to their Instagram that features Charles Wesley Godwin’s hard changing track “Cue Country Roads.”

“Game 3. ‘Cue Country Roads’ by Charles Wesley Godwin”


Charles Wesley Godwin is no stranger to the West Virginia football program. Back at the beginning of August, the WVU alum and Morganton native spoke to the team during a pre-season practice.

I may be jumping the gun here a bit, but at what point does CWG get to become the Minister of Culture to West Virginia University like McConaughey at University of Texas? I’d be here for it… (and you sure as hell don’t want Brad Paisley).

Godwin and his band The Allegheny High have paid their dues over the years and are finally reaping the benefits as one of the most high profile up and coming bands in country music.

“Cue Country Roads” is one of four songs CWG included on his August Family Ties (Sampler) EP, previewing his major label Big Loud debut album Family Ties that drops on September 22.

Check out the tracklist below, along with the other songs featured on the sampler EP.

1. “Tell the Babies I Love Them (Overture)”

2. “Family Ties”

3. “Miner Imperfections”

4. “The Flood”

5. “All Again”

6. “Gabriel”

7. “Dance in Rain”

8. “Another Leaf”

9. “That Time Again”

10. “Skyline Blues”

11. “West of Lonesome”

12. “Headwaters”

13. “10-38”

14. “Two Weeks Gone”

15. “Soul Like Mine”

16. “Willing and Able”

17. “Cue Country Roads”

18. “Take Me Home, Country Roads”

19. “By Your Side (Underture)”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock