Megan Moroney Takes A Good, Hard Look At The “Girl In The Mirror” On Brutally Honest New Single

Megan Moroney country music

This is easily the most personal and honest song Megan Moroney has ever released.

Out everywhere today, “Girl in the Mirror” finds Meg taking a good, hard look at herself, though she doesn’t exactly recognize the woman staring back at her.

She pours her heart out in the lyrics, and in the second verse, admits that she let a relationship completely override her independence and identity, which in the end, left her lost and heartbroken:

“The girl in the mirror used to know who she was
Now she’s up wonderin’ why she’s not enough
He put out her fire in the name of young love
The girl in the mirror used to know who she was”

The song is a co-write by Moroney alongside Jessie Jo Dillon and Matt Jenkins, and the last lines of the song are incredibly poignant, as she encourages the listener to remember their value and who they are:

“I loved the boy more than I love the girl in the mirror
You can’t love the boy more than you love the girl in the mirror”

Unfortunately, I think that’s something a lot of women, and men, can relate to, and if this song is any indication of what’s to come from Meg on the full-length album, I think we’re in for a really special and solid debut record.

It’s a refreshing perspective to hear her taking accountability for how she played a big part of losing herself in the relationship, too, as opposed to so many breakup songs you hear these days, where both parties just blame each other for everything that went down.

And coupled with the simple, pretty stripped-back production, I can see this one becoming a fast fan-favorite.

She dropped the music video today, as well:

Meg’s forthcoming studio debut Lucky will be out everywhere on May 5th, and features three previously released songs, including her current single at country radio “Tennessee Orange,” as well as “I’m Not Pretty” and the boot-stompin’ title track.

She was just nominated for her first ACM Award in the New Female Artist of the Year category, and the Georgia native is also gearing up for a headlining tour this fall.

Lucky tracklist:

1. “I’m Not Pretty”
2. “Lucky”
3. “Tennessee Orange”
4. “Kansas Anymore”
5. “Girl In the Mirror”
6. “Another On the Way”
7. “Traitor Joe”
8. “Why Johnny”
9. “God Plays A Gibson”
10. “Georgia Girl”
11. “Sleep On My Side”
12. “Mustang Or Me”
13. “Sad Songs for Sad People”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock