Whiskey Myers Announce New Album, ‘Tornillo’ – Drop Lead Single “John Wayne”

Whiskey Myers country music
Khris Poage

Hot damn, it’s Christmas in July.

Announced today, Whiskey Myers is gearing up to drop a brand new album this summer, easily catapulting them to the top of my most anticipated albums of 2022 list.

The East Texas country rockers spent 21 days hunkered down at the iconic 2,300-acre Sonic Ranch studio, located just a stone’s throw from the Mexican border in a little town called… Tornillo.

And the name of the album was born.

Set for release on July 29th, Tornillo marks the sixth album of Whiskey Myers’ career, and yet somehow, it seems like they’ve only just begun to really hit their stride.

And while this new album is still loyal to the signature Whiskey Myers sound, they also pushed their sound further than ever before:

Their second self-produced album, Tornillo draws inspiration from all across the musical spectrum, citing influences that include Nirvana, Waylon Jennings, the Gospel stylings of the McCrary Sisters. Not to mention, the fellas brought some horns into the studio this time around.

Of course, frontman Cody Cannon provides most of the songwriting, along with guitarist John Jeffers, bass player Jamey Gleaves, and percussionist Tony Kent. The only outside contribution comes from rising singer/songwriter Aaron Raitiere.

Whiskey Myers tornillo album cover

Tornillo Track Listing:

1. Tornillo

2. John Wayne (Cody Cannon, Jamey Gleaves, Tony Kent)

3. Antioch (Cody Cannon)

4. Feet’s (Cody Cannon)

5. Whole World Gone Crazy (John Jeffers)

6. For The Kids (Cody Cannon)

7. The Wolf (Cody Cannon)

8. Mission To Mars (Cody Cannon, Aaron Raitiere)

9. Bad Medicine (Cody Cannon)

10. Heavy On Me (John Jeffers)

11. Other Side (Cody Cannon)

12. Heart Of Stone (Cody Cannon)

And our first look at the new album? The lead single…

“John Wayne”

Gimme that harmonica… ALL DAMN DAY.

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock