Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires To Return CMA Membership Cards After Awards Ignore Prine, Shaver & Jerry Jeff Walker

Jason Isbell sitting in front of a book

The CMAs got a line of folks longer than the DMV outside lookin’ to file a complaint right now. And who could blame ’em?

Long story short, the CMA Awards honored Charley Pride, Joe Diffie, Charlie Daniels, Mac Davis and Urban Cowboy (for some fucking reason) last night and completely ignored John Prine, Jerry Jeff Walker and Billy Joe Shaver.

People are pissed, and rightfully so.

Sturgill tore into ’em, multiple others did as well, and now, Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires are returning their lifetime membership cards.

And while some fans brought up the valid point that it might be better to stay a member and try to effect change from the inside, Jason ultimately felt like his “energy was best spent elsewhere.”

To be honest, I’m not really sure what a lifetime membership gets you other than a discounted membership fee and skipping over the hassle of sending that $100 bucks in every year, but either way, it sends a message to the Country Music Association… get your head outta your ass.

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock