Relive Merle Haggard’s Entire 1978 Debut On Austin City Limits

Merle Haggard country music

There is no better way to spend your weekend than having some classic country songs on and diving deep into the archives of amazing country music videos.

Merle Haggard’s Austin City Limits performance from 1978 was the church service I didn’t know I needed.

This performance was his first ever appearance on ACL. And naturally, his unbelievable stage presence blew the roof off the place, which led to eight other appearances on the show throughout his career.

“Working Man Can’t Get Nowhere Today”

The Strangers accompany Haggard, and their stage chemistry is addicting to watch, and just as a viewer, you see how much downright fun they all have together.

These are people who care about the music and not the bells and whistles of a fancy show; it’s chock full of raw talent.

The performance highlighted hits off of his albums, A Working Man Can’t Get Nowhere, A Portrait Of with The StrangersRamblin’ Fever, A Tribute To The Best Damn Fiddle Player, and more.

“Sing Me Back Home”

Here is the complete track list from the show:

– “A Hard Working Man Can’t Get Nowhere Today”

– “Silver Wings”

– “Ramblin’ Fever”

– “The Fugitive”

– “Sing Me Back Home”

– “Orange Blossom Special”

– “Old-Fashion Love”

– “Long Black Limousine”

– “Cherokee Maiden”

– “San Antonio Love”

– “Misery”

– “The Farmer’s Daughter”

– “Brain Cloudy Blues”

– “Working Man Blues”

Watching the whole performance is time well spent. We love well-preserved archives from the greats, like Merle Haggard.

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock