Molly Tuttle Is Gearing Up To Release New Bluegrass Album, ‘Crooked Tree’

Molly Tuttle country music
Samantha Muljat

Singer/songwriter Molly Tuttle is gearing up to make her Nonesuch Records debut album, Crooked Tree, featuring her new bluegrass band, Golden Highway.

On top of that, the album features collaborations with Sierra Hull, Old Crow Medicine Show, Margo Price, Billy Strings, Dan Tyminski, and Gillian Welch.

Produced by Jerry Douglas and recorded at Nashville’s Oceanway Studios, Crooked Tree is set to drop on April 1st.

She said that her inspiration to record a bluegrass album stems from her father, a music teacher and multi-instrumentalist, as well as her grandfather, a banjo player.

She added:

“I always knew I wanted to make a bluegrass record someday. Once I started writing, everything flowed so easily.

Sometimes I’ve felt an internal pressure to come up with a sound no one’s heard before, but this time my intention was just to make an album that reflected the music that’s been passed down through generations in my family.

I found a way to do that while writing songs that feel true to who I am, and it really helped me to grow as a songwriter.” 

In celebration of the new album, the Northern California native is kicking off her headlining her “Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway” tour tonight in Seattle, Washington at the Tractor Tavern.

They also released the title track, “Crooked Tree.”

Crooked Tree Tracklist:

1. She’ll Change
2. Flatland Girl feat. Margo Price
3. Dooley’s Farm feat. Billy Strings
4. Big Backyard feat. Old Crow Medicine Show
5. Crooked Tree
6. Castilleja
7. The River Knows
8. Over the Line feat. Sierra Hull
9. Nashville Mess Around
10. San Francisco Blues feat. Dan Tyminski
11. Goodbye Girl
12. Side Saddle feat. Gillian Welch
13. Grass Valley

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock