Jimmie Johnson And Longtime Crew Chief Chad Knaus Elected To 2024 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Class

Jimmie Johnson life
Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

One of the most successful duos in NASCAR history is joining the Hall of Fame together.

It was just announced that seven-time champions in driver Jimmie Johnson and his crew chief Chad Knaus were elected to the 2024 NASCAR Hall of Fame class, each on their first appearance on the Modern Era ballot.

They break the categories into three separate groups, which includes Modern, Pioneer (those whose careers began over 60 years ago), and the Landmark Award (those who’ve made outstanding contributions to the sport in varying roles).

And actually, for the first time, all three Hall of Fame inductees are first-ballot choices, which also includes Donnie Allison, who was the top vote-getter on the Pioneer Ballot.

In addition to Johnson, Knaus and Allison, Janet Guthrie was selected as the recipient for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. She will be recognized along with the Class of 2024 electees on the NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which will take place on January 19th in Charlotte.

Jimmie, who recently experienced personal tragedy in what has been deemed a murder-suicide where he lost three family members, weighed in on the news, saying it is an “incredible honor” to be part of this year’s Hall of Fame class.

He added that doing so alongside Chad is very special, and he’s looking forward to joining the “elite company” of so many other legends in the NASCAR Hall of Fame:

“It is an incredible honor to be voted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame with the Class of 2024. What makes this moment even more special is being inducted with Chad Knaus.

We re-wrote the record books together, so it’s only fitting we are inducted together. Congratulations also to Donnie Allison for joining the Hall of Fame and Janet Guthrie on the Landmark Award.

Joining the elite company of so many who have contributed to our sport is truly overwhelming and I am forever grateful.”

Congratulations to Jimmie and all of this year’s inductees.

Johnson and Knaus won seven championships together, five of which came consecutively during an incredible run of success from 2006-10.

Johnson retired from full-time NASCAR competition after the 2020 season, but has returned in two roles, as a part-time driver and minority owner of the Legacy Motor Club organization.

He is also in some pretty incredible company as one of just three seven-time champions in NASCAR’s premier series, with the other two being Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty, who were part of the 2010 inaugural Hall of Fame class.

I mean, this pretty much sums it up…

And one more thing, Jimmie’s induction somehow wasn’t unanimous… that’s right, 4 insane people voted against it.

I think those 4 voters should be publicly identified, shamed, and kicked out of NASCAR forever. I mean… I would LOVE to hear the logic behind that move:

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock