Dolly Parton Reveals Why Mick Jagger Won’t Be Included On Her ‘Rockstar’ Album: “He Wanted Something New And Different”

Mick Jagger Dolly Parton country music
Allan Tannenbaum/Getty Images

The duet this could’ve been…

Dolly Parton is gearing up to release her first full-fledged rock and roll project Rockstar on November 17th, which features an absolutely all-star cast full of rock icons and legends on a good majority of the songs.

Dolly’s doing tons of covers, notably getting the surviving Beatles members Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr back together, along with Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood, to cover “Let It Be.”

And back before the official project was even announced, she noted how badly she really wanted Rolling Stones frontman Mick Jagger to join her on a duet of the Stones’ classic “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction.”

Ultimately, she decided to sing it with P!nk and Brandi Carlile, though still seemed hopeful that she could get Mick to sing on a different song, saying that if he didn’t come through, she’d have to “kick his bony ass” next time she saw him:

“I’m still waiting for Mick to come on back. He might come through. If not, I’ll kick his bony ass when I see him!”

And in a recent interview with the Daily Mail’s Eden Confidential, Dolly revealed why Mick won’t be featured at all on the tracklist, saying that he wanted to do something “new and different,” implying that she wanted to sing a more classic Rolling Stones tune and he wanted to either sing a totally new song, or rearrange an oldie.

She added that her husband, Carl Dean, loves Mick, so it would’ve been really special to get him on this record, and they tried to find the right song and time to record it, but it just didn’t work out:

“I wanted Mick Jagger so bad, because my husband loves him, and I wanted him to sing on ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,’ but he wanted something new and different, which I don’t blame him for.

We kept looking for the right song. He was doing an album in LA, and I was doing stuff in Nashville, and I kept missing him, but he wanted to do it.”

I can only hope and pray that one day they team up for a duet on a one-off single or something down the road. It’s the song we need and deserve as music fans.

And it sounds like Mick better watch out next time he sees the Queen of Country out and about somewhere, because she’s got a real bone to pick with him now, so to speak…

So far, Dolly’s released three singles from Rockstar, “World On Fire,” “Magic Man (Carl Version) ft. Ann Wilson” and “Bygones ft. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5,” and the full album will be out everywhere on November 17th.

“World On Fire”

“Bygones ft. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5”

“Magic Man (Carl Version) ft. Ann Wilson”

Rockstar tracklist:

1. Rock Star (special guest Richie Sambora)
2. World on Fire
3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock