Dolly Parton’s ‘Rock Star’ Will Have 30-Song Tracklist Featuring All-Star Cast Including Paul McCartney, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Steve Perry & Tons More

Dolly Parton country music
Vijat Mohindra/Art Courtesy of Courtesy of Butterfly Records

Dolly Parton is pulling out all the stops for this one.

According to Consequence, she will feature an absolutely all-star cast full of rock icons and legends on her forthcoming rock and roll album Rock Star.

After being inducted into the Rock Hall of Fame last year, Dolly made it very clear that she wanted to earn her spot there (her words, not mine) because she’s obviously a country artist, and this was her way of doing so.

And of course, in true Dolly fashion, she’s going all-in, and recruiting some of the best talent the genre has ever seen to sing with her.

The record will include nine original songs, including a collaboration with Steve Nicks called “What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You,” “I Dreamed About Elvis” with Ronnie McDowell, and Richie Sambora, most known as the lead guitarist for Bon Jovi, on the title track.

In addition, she’s doing tons of covers, notably getting the surviving Beatles members Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr back together, along with Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood, to cover “Let It Be.”

There’s also a cover of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Free Bird” with the late Gary Rossington and Artimus Pyle, along with posthumous vocals from original legendary frontman and Ronnie Van Zandt.

Possibly the song I’m looking forward to hearing the most, though, is her duet with Chris Stapleton on Bob Seger’s “Night Moves.” There are also features with Elton John, Steve Perry, Sting, Kid Rock, John Fogarty, Lizzo, Miley Cyrus, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts and tons more.

Seriously, it’s going to be an incredible project (to say the least), and I truly believe Dolly Parton is the only person who could pull something like this off.

You can check out the album cover, along with some of the other promotional photos, below… and to state the very obvious, Mrs. Dolly is also the hottest 77 year old alive:

Dolly also shared this teaser on her own Instagram, and she is certainly “ready to rock”:

Dolly will premiere the lead single “World On Fire” this week at the ACM Awards, where she is also co-hosting the show with Garth Brooks.

The album will be out everywhere on November 17th. You can check out the full tracklist below.

Rock Star tracklist:

1. Rock Star (special guest Richie Sambora)
2. World on Fire
3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock