Dolly Parton Releases New Song “Bygones” With Judas Priest Frontman Rob Halford, Along With Mötley Crüe’s Nikki Sixx And John 5

Dolly Parton country music
Dolly Parton/Courtesy of Courtesy of Butterfly Records

What a damn cast…

Dolly Parton released a new song from her forthcoming rock album Rockstar called “Bygones” today, which is an original tune that features some of rock and heavy metals most famous and legendary artists in Judas Priest frontman Rob Halford, along with iconic Mötley Crüe bassist Nikki Sixx and new touring guitarist John 5 (who’s played with Rob Zombie and Marilyn Manson)  doin’ their thing on the production.

After being inducted into the Rock Hall of Fame last year, Dolly made it very clear that she wanted to earn her spot there (her words, not mine) because she’s obviously a country artist, and this project was her way of doing so.

And of course, in true Dolly fashion, she’s going all-in, and recruiting some of the best talent the broader rock and roll genre has ever seen to sing with her, and along with the aforementioned artists in the songs she put out today, includes features from Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr, Elton John, Steve Perry, Steve Nicks, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts and tons more.

And while I don’t know if I ever in my life would’ve dreamed up a song that included these three with Dolly, it freaking rocks. Dolly even says it’s one of her favorites on the whole record:

“‘Bygones’ is an original song of mine featuring Rob Halford from Judas Preist with Nikki Sixx and John 5. It is one of my very favorites on the whole album.

The song fits with so many couples and coupling my voice with Rob, one of my all-time favorites, made it even more special.”

This is easily one of the coolest projects Dolly has ever attempted in my very humble opinion, and the fact that she’s able to recruit such a large volume of the most iconic rock artists of all time to all sing with her just proves her spot as the Queen of Country… hell, she might just be the queen of the world at this point.

I’m more and more convinced that she’s the only person who could ever pull this off… do yourself a favor and check it out:


Dolly also released a reimagined cover of Heart’s “Magic Man” (Carl Version) featuring Heart frontwoman Ann Wilson:

“Magic Man”

The Rockstar album will be out everywhere on November 17th, and you can check out the star-studded tracklist below.

Rock Star tracklist:

1. Rock Star (special guest Richie Sambora)
2. World on Fire
3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)
4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)
5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)
6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)
7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)
8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)
9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)
10. Purple Rain
11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)
12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)
14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)
15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)
16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)
17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)
18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)
19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)
20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)
21. We Are The Champions
22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)
23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)
24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)
25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)
26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)
27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)
28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)
29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)
30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock