Lainey Wilson Remembers The Taste Of Her First Love And “Watermelon Moonshine” On Next Single From ‘Bell Bottom Country’

Lainey Wilson country music

Nothin’ like a little liquid courage…

Lainey Wilson dropped the second single from her just-announced fourth studio album, Bell Bottom Country, where she details her first love, her first time, and how that memory is “always gonna taste like watermelon moonshine.”

It’s easy to draw comparisons to Deana Carter’s 1996 iconic hit “Strawberry Wine” when you hear this song, and if I had to guess, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if Lainey pulled a little inspiration from it.

She describes how, even though she was way too young to know anything about love, she fell hard for this guy back then and thought it would last forever as “they gave each other more than our hearts.”

But as the title suggests, she needed the help of a little clear liquid from a mason jar to calm her nerves:

“I don’t remember where we got it from
I just remember feelin’ all grown up
Takin’ pulls like it ain’t no thing
Never told him it was my first drink
But I told him that he was the one
You’re so sure when you’re that young…

It’s like the 2022 version of “Strawberry Wine,” and I’m so here for it.

I’ve loved getting a peak to the deeper side of Lainey with these two release from her forthcoming album, too, and she just keeps getting better and better in terms of her writing and vocals every time she drops something new.

“I’ve lived quite a bit of life the past few years, and I have a lot more to say. Sure, I love a good pair of bell bottoms, but ‘Bell Bottom Country’ to me has always been about the flare and what makes someone unique… I have really embraced mine, and I hope y’all can hear that across this project.”

This one’s gonna be on repeat for a while, but the only problem is, it’s not even 10am here in North Carolina and now I want a shot of watermelon moonshine…

“Watermelon Moonshine”

“Heart Like A Truck”

Bell Bottom Country is slated to drop on October 28th, and comes not too far behind her fantastic 2021 major label debut and third studio album Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin’, which was one of my favorite’s from last year.

Bell Bottom Country tracklist:

1. Hillbilly Hippie
2. Road Runner
3. Watermelon Moonshine
4. Grease
5. Weak-End
6. Me, You and Jesus
7. Hold My Halo
8. Heart Like A Truck
9. Atta Girl
10. This One’s Gonna Cost Me
11. Those Boots (Deddy’s Song)
12. Live Off
13. Wildflowers and Wild Horses
14. What’s Up (What’s Going On)

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock