Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit Announce New Album ‘Weathervanes,’ Release Lead Single “Death Wish”

Jason Isbell country music
Erika Goldring/Getty Images

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit have a new album on the way.

After teasing yesterday that something was coming soon, the Alabama native announced today that the bands new record Weathervanes will be out everywhere on June 9th via Isbell’s own label, Southeastern Records.

Jason shared the announcement and album cover on Twitter, adding that he produced the project at Blackbird Studios in Nashville:

Our new album ‘Weathervanes’ will be released on June 9. I produced it at Blackbird Studios.

Here’s the preorder and a link to our new single, ‘Death Wish.'”

He previously shared a video teaser from the studio, which was perfectly narrated by ESPN’s Wright Thompson and promised a new collection of “grown up songs,” along with teasing track titles like “Death Wish,” “White Beretta,” “Volunteer,” and “Cast Iron Skillet.”

Thompson describes Isbell as a:

“Storyteller at the peak of his craft. Observing his fellow wanderers, looking inside himself and trying to understand, reducing a universe to four minutes.

He shrinks life small enough to name the fear and strip it away, helping his listeners make sense of how two plus two and stops equally four once you reach a certain age and carry a certain amount of scars.”

Jason also revealed the 13-song tracklist today, and titles of songs can be seen in the studio which include, “Cast Iron Skillet,” “Volunteer,” “Death Wish,” “The King of Oklahoma,” “White Beretta,” “The Letter J,” and more.

They’re described as:

“Songs about adult love, about change, about the danger of nostalgia and the interrogation of myths, about cruelty and regret of redemption.”

And in short, summed them up as:

“Life and death songs… played for and by grown-ass people.”

And the band is kicking things off with the lead single “Death Wish,” which is a dark and very honest look at a relationship where one person struggles with their mental health, and the other tries to love them through it.

Safe to say, we have a lot to look forward to in a few short months:

“Death Wish”

Weathervanes tracklist:

1. “Death Wish”
2. “King of Oklahoma”
3.  “Strawberry Woman”
4. “Middle of the Morning”
5. “Save the WOrld”
6. “If You Insist”
7. “Cast Iron Skillet”
8. “When We Were Close”
9. “Volunteer”
10. “Vestavia Hills”
11. “White Beretta”
12. “This Ain’t It”
13. “Miles”

This will be Jason’s first body of new work since his 2021 Georgia Blue album, a charity project Isbell promised to release if Joe Biden won the state of Georgia in the 2020 United States presidential election.

Here’s the studio teaser:

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock