Kris Kristofferson To Release New Album ‘Live at Gilley’s’ Featuring Recordings From 1981 Show At Iconic Honky Tonk

Kris Kristofferson playing a guitar
Scott Newton

Kris Kristofferson has a new live album on the way.

Announced today, on his 86th birthday, Kristofferson will release Live at Gilley’s – Pasadena, TX: September 15, 1981, on September 2nd.

As is evidenced by the title, the live album was recorded at the legendary Pasadena, Texas honky tonk from the 1980 flick Urban Cowboy, on the final date of Kris’ 1981 tour.

And his fellow country legend and friend George Strait weighed in on it in the liner notes, saying how much he loved playing Gilley’s back in the day and how hearing Kris’ set and the crowd in the background brought back so many great memories from his touring days, as well:

“What a great album this is! Classic Kristofferson songs throughout, and live!! Kris was in his prime and his vocals were outstanding and very soulful as always. I got to play Gilley’s a few times back in those days and this record takes me right back there.

You can tell the crowd is loving him and he’s loving them right back. That’s what it’s all about. It was an exciting time to say the least. So close your eyes and listen to this record. Imagine you’re right there standing in front of the stage with the man himself looking right at you.

I think you’ll get a really good idea of what Gilley’s was like back then when Kris played there. What a treat that must’ve been.”

And the owner of the iconic honky tonk and country great, the late Mickey Gilley, offered this about the new album three months before he passed away May of this year:

“Right next to the club was the recording studio, and we recorded everything that was done onstage. We could record onto the 24-track machine that we had in the studio, then we would do the mixing…

We booked a lot of shows around that time, including some people I didn’t think would want to play the club. We got some acts that made me think, ‘Are you kidding me?’…

Kris Kristofferson was one of those artists that I didn’t think would want to play Gilley’s, because he was such a big name and a tremendous talent.”

Kris Kristofferson live in his home state of Texas in his prime featuring all of his best music… you simply can’t beat it.

The lead single, his classic “Me And Bobby McGee,” is out today:

Live at Gilley’s – Pasadena, TX: September 15, 1981 tracklist:

1. Me And Bobby McGee
2. Here Comes That Rainbow Again
3. Casey’s Last Ride
4. You Show Me Yours (And I’ll Show You Mine) / Stranger
5. Nobody Loves Anybody Anymore
6. Darby’s Castle
7. If It’s All The Same To You
8. The Pilgrim
9. For The Good Times
10. Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down
11. The Silver Tongued Devil And I
12. Smile At Me Again
13. Same Old Song
14. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)
15. Why Me

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock