American Aquarium Drops Second Single, “Wildfire,” From Forthcoming Album ‘Chicamacomico’

Joshua Black Wilkins

American Aquarium dropped a little love song today…

Though we’re used to getting some real sad, dark country songs from the band, this new one, “Wildfire,” is a little bit lighter than some of their other stuff on previous albums (which they’ve noted is also on the way for this album).

Well technically, it does end with a breakup, but overall, it finds frontman and writer BJ Barham reflecting fondly on a love that burned so brightly early on and eventually burnt out, because as he points out, “a flame that burns this bright, babe, is a flame that don’t burn long.”


There’s also a sense of optimism in the renewal:

“Wildfire is a song about someone coming along and simultaneously fulfilling and destroying your life. The destructive kind of love that burns fast and bright and serves as a lesson for future relationships.

The kind of love that teaches you the definitions of unfathomable joy and catastrophic collapse at the same time. These are the relationships that you never want to end but know they must.

The kind of love that, for better or worse, leaves its mark on you forever. We have all had these moments. We have all lost these moments. I wanted to capture the experience in a song, and I’ve always loved the imagery of fire.

This cleansing destruction that teaches us to grow back stronger.”

They recently announced that their 9th studio album, Chicamacomicowill be released this summer on June 10th, and “Wildfire” is the second single from the record, as they dropped “All I Needed” last month:

“‘Then the sky busted open like the book of Revelations. The smell of Bulleit Rye & Brimstone filled the August air.’

Our new single ‘Wildfire’ is now available wherever you stream music. Give it a spin, tag a few friends and thanks for supporting live, original, independent music. Our new album CHICAMACOMICO comes out 6/10.”

If these first two songs are any indication, we’re in for some good stuff come June 10th:

“All I Needed”

Chicamocomico tracklist:

1. Chicamocomico
2. Little Things
3. Just Close Enough
4. The First Year
5. Built to Last
6. Wildfire
7. The Things We Lost Along the Way
8. Waking Up the Echoes
9. The Hardest Thing
10. All I Needed

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock