Miranda Lambert Announces New Album, ‘Palomino’, Releases New Song “Strange”

Miranda Lambert country music
Robert Ashcroft


After lots of teasing about a new record coming soon, Miranda Lambert officially announced her eighth solo studio album, Palomino, will be dropping on April 29th.

I cannot freaking wait for this new music, since the last time she put out a solo record was in 2019 with her Grammy-winning project Wildcard.

I think this is my favorite album cover of hers to date, too… she’s going full cowgirl for this new record and I’m here for it:

It’s her third album in the last year, as the reigning ACM’s Entertainer of the Year released her collaborative album with Jon Randall and Jack Ingram, The Marfa Tapes, last May, and her Christmas album, Hell of a Holiday, with the Pistol Annies in October of 2021.

Of this new record, Miranda says that, even though she couldn’t travel much due to COVID restrictions when she was writing for it, she was inspired by her travels all over the country and her wandering spirit:

“The making of this record has been one of the most fun and creative experiences of my career. Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, and I went out to my farm in Tennessee in 2020 and started writing songs.

We figured while we have time let’s get out to the country and see what happens. The first one we wrote was ‘Tourist’ and that set us on a path to create something with a bit of a theme.

Since we couldn’t travel at the time, we decided to go on a journey through songs. I hope y’all are ready to travel with us wandering spirits and meet some cool characters with great stories.”

The album was co-produced by Miranda with Jon Randall and Luke Dick, and the 15-song tracklist even features a tune called “Music City Queen” with The B-52’s that I can’t wait to hear.

She also has plenty of other recognizable names as co-writers on the songs, including Luke and Natalie Hemby (who co-wrote her hit “Bluebird”), as well as Jack and Jon on quite a few others. There’s also a cover of Mick Jagger’s “Wandering Spirit” on there as well.

She included three songs from Marfa Tapes that were some of the best from that project we’ll get to hear with studio production now in “Geraldene”, “In His Arms” and my absolute favorite “Waxahachie”, which I’m also really excited for.

April 29th… put it on the calendar, people.

Palomino tracklist:

1. Actin’ Up (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Jon Randall)
2. Scenes (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
3. In His Arms (Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall)
4. Geraldene (Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall)
5. Tourist (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
6. Music City Queen feat. The B-52’s (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
7. Strange (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
8. Wandering Spirit (Mick Jagger, James Rippeto)
9. I’ll Be Lovin’ You (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Jon Randall)
10. That’s What Makes the Jukebox Play (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
11. Country Money (Miranda Lambert, Aaron Raitiere, Mikey Reaves)
12. If I Was a Cowboy (Miranda Lambert, Jesse Frasure)
13. Waxahachie (Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall)
14. Pursuit of Happiness (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)
15. Carousel (Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby)

She’s already put out two tracks from the album, including the one she released today, “Strange”:

And her girl power anthem, “If I Was A Cowboy”:

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock