Lainey Wilson And Parker McCollum Left Speechless After Winning ACM New Artists Of The Year

A man and a woman wearing hats

Hard to argue with these winners.

The 57th Annual ACM Awards are this coming Monday, but they’re already handing out some trophies – and I’ve gotta admit, they got these two right.

Miranda Lambert, a 29-time ACM Award winner herself, got to break the news to this years Male and Female winners of New Artist of the Year, which went to Parker McCollum and Lainey Wilson.

Parker was stunned when he opened up the ol’ Zoom machine and saw Miranda on the other side, apparently expecting it to be a “last minute interview.” But he was speechless when she told him that she was really calling to break the news that he had won this years ACM Award for New Male Artist Of the Year.

“Are you serious? I’m like, getting blurry vision right now. Are you jok- you’re dead serious, I won?”

And Lainey Wilson had a similarly priceless reaction to finding out that she won New Female Artist of the Year – an award that Miranda herself won way back in 2006.

“Holy shit. If there’s anybody who understands the freakin’ blood sweat and tears it’s you.”

There aren’t many other breakout artists who deserve to be recognized for what they’ve accomplished over the past year than these two.

Lainey scored her first #1 hit with “Things A Man Oughta Know,” and absolutely killed it with her debut album Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin’.

And Parker set the country music world on fire with his major label debut album Gold Chain Cowboy, becoming one of the few Texas artists in recent years to successfully bridge the gap between Texas country and mainstream Nashville.

A lot of times it seems like these “New Artists of the Year” award go to people who have one hit and then we never hear from them again. But I don’t think we have to worry about that with this years winners, because both Lainey and Parker are set to take off and become absolute superstars – if they aren’t there already.

So, credit to the ACM Awards for getting these right. Now let’s just hope they don’t screw up the rest of them…

The ACM Awards will be broadcast from Las Vegas on Monday, March 7 at 8pm ET/7pm CT, and will be streaming exclusively on Amazon Prime. Dolly Parton will be hosting, joined by co-hosts Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett.

And of course make sure to tune in to our Twitter for the best and most unfiltered coverage of all the awards shows.

Here are the rest of the nominees for this year’s ACM Awards:

Entertainer of the Year

Luke Combs
Eric Church
Miranda Lambert
Chris Stapleton
Carrie Underwood

Female Artist of the Year

Gabby Barrett
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Carly Pearce

Male Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Morgan Wallen

Group of the Year

Lady A
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
The Cadillac Three

Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Maddie & Tae

New Female Artist of the Year

Tenille Arts
Priscilla Block
Lily Rose
Caitlyn Smith
Lainey Wilson – Winner

New Male Artist of the Year

Walker Hayes
Ryan Hurd
Parker McCollum – Winner
Elvie Shane

Album of the Year

29: Written in Stone – Carly Pearce
Dangerous: The Double Album – Morgan Wallen
The Marfa Tapes – Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram & Jon Randall
Country Again: Side A – Thomas Rhett
Famous Friends – Chris Young

Single of the Year

“Buy Dirt” – Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan
“Fancy Like” – Walker Hayes
“You Should Probably Leave” – Chris Stapleton
“Famous Friends” – Chris Young & Kane Brown
“If I Didn’t Love You” – Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood

Song of the Year 

“Buy Dirt” – Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan
“7 Summers” – Morgan Wallen
“Fancy Like” – Walker Hayes
“Knowing You” – Kenny Chesney
“Things A Man Oughta Know” – Lainey Wilson

Music Event of the Year

“Buy Dirt” – Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan
“Famous Friends” – Chris Young & Kane Brown
“Half of My Hometown” – Kelsea Ballerini feat. Kenny Chesney
“If I Didn’t Love You” – Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood
“Never Wanted to Be That Girl” – Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde

Video of the Year

“Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home)” – Elle King and Miranda Lambert
“Famous Friends” – Chris Young and Kane Brown
“I Bet You Think About Me (Taylor’s Version)” – Taylor Swift featuring Chris Stapleton
“If I Didn’t Love You” – Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood
“Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde

Songwriter of the Year

Jesse Frasure
Nicolle Galyon
Ashley Gorley
Michael Hardy
Josh Osborne

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock