The Living Legend Himself, Willie Nelson, To Release 75th Solo Studio Album ‘The Border’

Willie Nelson country music
Pamela Springsteen

The living legend himself, Willie Nelson, has a new album on the way.

With his 91st birthday just around the corner on April 29th, the red headed stranger is gearing up to put out his 75th solo studio album The Border on May 31st (to go along with his 26 collaborative studio albums). The Border will mark his 152nd career album in total.

The Texas icon also released the title track today, which is a cover of Rodney Crowell’s “The Border,” which was included on his 2019 album Texas. Written by Rodney Crowell and Allen Shamblin, the song tells the story of a border worker who is exhausted by his job and what he sees, feeling hopeless about many things as a result of that daily grind.

The Border was produced by Willie’s longtime collaborator Buddy Cannon, and includes four new original songs written by the two of them. In 2023, Nelson released two studio albums, I Don’t Know a Thing About Love and Bluegrass.

In 2022, he won the Grammy Award for Best Country Album for his A Beautiful Time record.

I mean, it’s hard to say anything new about the icon that is Willie Nelson at this point, but there’s a reason he’s been doing it for so long and staying at the top of his game. To say he’s a national treasure even feels like an understatement, and I am so damn excited that we’re about to get even more new Willie Nelson music in 2023:

Oh yeah, and he’s also gearing up to hit the road for his 2024 Outlaw Music Festival tour with Bob Dylan, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, John Mellencamp and more.

The Border tracklist:

01 “The Border”
02 “Once Upon A Yesterday”
03 “What If I’m Out Of My Mind”
04 “I Wrote This Song For You”
05 “Kiss Me When You’re Through”
06 “Many A Long And Lonesome Highway”
07 “Hank’s Guitar”
08 “Made In Texas”
09 “Nobody Knows Me Like You”
10 “How Much Does It Cost”

“The Border”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock