Megan Moroney Releases Live Acoustic Performance Video For “Traitor Joe”

Meg Moroney country music
Youtube/Meg Moroney

“Traitor Joe,” but make it acoustic.

Megan Moroney released a live acoustic performance video of her fan-favorite single “Traitor Joe” today, which was featured on the tracklist for her major label debut album Lucky in May.

Co-written by Megan along with Ben Williams, Casey Brown and Parker Welling, Meg says the song idea actually started out with the idea to make Joe the traitor, but they ended up with something pretty different:

“I wrote ‘Traitor Joe’ with Casey Brown, Parker Welling and Ben Williams. And when I took it into the writers room, I was like, I have this idea we’re gonna make Joe the bad guy.

Then my co-writer Ben was like, ‘What if she’s a traitor, and you want Joe?’

The concept features Megan trying to warn Joe, a guy she has her eye on, that his girlfriend is cheating on him and he deserves better.

The wordplay is really fun, and the studio cut has a really catch melody that will get stuck in your head from the first listen.

But of course, I always love hearing songs like this in their stripped-back, purest form, and this is no different.

Check it out:

The studio cut:

And if you wanna hear the song live in concert, Megan is currently out on the road for her headlining Lucky tour.

Lucky tour dates:

13 | Los Angeles, CA – Troubadour
14 | Bakersfield, CA – Buck Owens’ Crystal Palace
19 | Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater
20 | Salt Lake City, UT – The Grand at The Complex
21 | Grand Junction, CO – Warehouse 25 Sixty-Five
25 | Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom
26 | San Diego, CA – Moonshine Beach
27 | Las Vegas, NV – Stoney’s Rockin’ Country
2 | New Braunfels, TX – Gruene Hall
3 | Houston, TX – Warehouse Live Ballroom
4 | Dallas, TX – The Studio at The Factory
7 | Nashville, TN – Brooklyn Bowl
9 | Charlotte, NC – Coyote Joe’s
10 | Atlanta, GA – Buckhead Theatre

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock