Carly Pearce & Ashley McBryde Win Best Country Duo/Group Performance: “We Won A Grammy… Holy Sh*t”

Carly Ashley Mcbyrde country music
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

And the winners is…

The 65th Annual Grammy Awards are underway tonight, and we already have some early winners in various country music categories.

Willie Nelson’s “Live Forever” took home the win for Best Country Solo Performance, beating out the like of Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Miranda Lambert and our man Zach Bryan, who secured his first career nomination with “Something In The Orange.”

Ashley McBryde and Carly Pearce took home the win for Best Country Duo/Group Performance with “Never Wanted To Be That Girl,” besting Luke Combs and Miranda Lambert, Reba and Dolly, and more.

Brandi Carlile’s “Broken Horses” also won Best Rock Performance and Best Rock Song.

And to nobody’s surprise, Carly and Ashley’s acceptance speech was nothing short of amazing:

“We won a Grammy…. holy shit!”

“Never Wanted To Be That Girl”

65th Annual Grammy Nominees


Best Country Solo Performance:

“Heartfirst” — Kelsea Ballerini
“Something in the Orange” — Zach Bryan
“In His Arms” — Miranda Lambert
“Circles Around This Town” — Maren Morris
“Live Forever” — Willie Nelson

Best Country Duo/Group Performance:

“Wishful Drinking” — Ingrid Andress and Sam Hunt
“Midnight Rider’s Prayer” — Brothers Osborne
“Outrunnin’ Your Memory” — Luke Combs and Miranda Lambert
“Does He Love You — Revisited” — Reba McEntire and Dolly Parton
“Never Wanted to Be That Girl” — Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde
“Going Where the Lonely Go” —Robert Plant and Alison Krauss

Best Country Song:

“Circles Around This Town” — Ryan Hurd, Julia Michaels, Maren Morris and Jimmy Robbins, songwriters (Maren Morris)
“Doin’ This,” Luke Combs” — Drew Parker and Robert Williford, songwriters (Luke Combs)
“I Bet You Think About Me (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)” — Lori McKenna and Taylor Swift, songwriters (Taylor Swift)
“If I Was a Cowboy” — Jesse Frasure and Miranda Lambert, songwriters (Miranda Lambert)
“I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die” — Rodney Crowell and Chris Stapleton, songwriters (Willie Nelson)
“’Til You Can’t” — Matt Rogers and Ben Stennis, songwriters (Cody Johnson)

Best Country Album:

Growin’ Up — Luke Combs
Palomino — Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville — Ashley McBryde
Humble Quest — Maren Morris
A Beautiful Time — Willie Nelson


Featuring nominations for Dolly Parton, Brandi Carlile, Allison Krause and Robert Plant:

Best American Roots Performance:

“Someday It’ll All Make Sense (Bluegrass Version)” — Bill Anderson featuring Dolly Parton
“Life According to Raechel” — Madison Cunningham
“Oh Betty” — Fantastic Negrito
“Stompin’ Ground” — Aaron Neville with the Dirty Dozen Brass Band
“Prodigal Daughter” — Aoife O’Donovan and Allison Russell

Best Americana Performance:

“Silver Moon (A Tribute to Michael Nesmith)” — Eric Alexandrakis
“There You Go Again” — Asleep at the Wheel featuring Lyle Lovett
“The Message” — Blind Boys of Alabama featuring Black Violin
“You and Me on the Rock” — Brandi Carlile featuring Lucius
“Made Up Mind” — Bonnie Raitt

Best American Roots Song:

“Bright Star” — Anaïs Mitchell, songwriter (Anaïs Mitchell)
“Forever” — Sheryl Crow and Jeff Trott, songwriters (Sheryl Crow)
“High and Lonesome” — T Bone Burnett and Robert Plant, songwriters (Robert Plant and Alison Krauss)
“Just Like That” — Bonnie Raitt, songwriter (Bonnie Raitt)
“Prodigal Daughter” — Tim O’Brien and Aoife O’Donovan, songwriters (Aoife O’Donovan and Allison Russell)
“You and Me on the Rock” — Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth, songwriters (Brandi Carlile featuring Lucius)

Best Americana Album:

In These Silent Days — Brandi Carlile
Things Happen That Way — Dr. John
Good to Be … — Keb’ Mo’
Raise the Roof — Robert Plant and Alison Krauss
Just Like That… — Bonnie Raitt


And the big four, which includes a nomination for Brandi Carlile in the Album of the Year category, and bluegrass star Molly Tuttle in the New Artist of the Year category (unfortunately, Zach didn’t make the cut in that category this year as they had previously hinted):

Record of the Year:

Don’t Shut Me Down — Abba
Easy on Me — Adele
Break My Soul — Beyoncé
Good Morning Gorgeous — Mary J. Blige
You and Me on the Rock — Brandi Carlile featuring Lucius
Woman — Doja Cat
Bad Habit — Steve Lacy
The Heart Part 5 — Kendrick Lamar
About Damn Time — Lizzo
As It Was — Harry Styles

Album of the Year:

Voyage — Abba
30 — Adele
Un Verano Sin Ti — Bad Bunny
Renaissance — Beyoncé
Good Morning Gorgeous (Deluxe) — Mary J. Blige
In These Silent Days — Brandi Carlile
Music of the Spheres — Coldplay
Mr. Morale & the Big Steppers — Kendrick Lamar
Special — Lizzo
Harry’s House — Harry Styles

Song of the Year:

“Abcdefu” — Sara Davis, Gayle and Dave Pittenger, songwriters (Gayle)
“About Damn Time” — Melissa “Lizzo” Jefferson, Eric Frederic, Blake Slatkin and Theron Makiel Thomas, songwriters (Lizzo)
“All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (The Short Film)” — Liz Rose and Taylor Swift, songwriters (Taylor Swift)
“As It Was” — Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles, songwriters (Harry Styles)
“Bad Habit” — Matthew Castellanos, Brittany Fousheé, Diana Gordon, John Carroll Kirby & Steve Lacy, songwriters (Steve Lacy)
“Break My Soul” — Beyoncé, S. Carter, Terius “The-Dream” Gesteelde-Diamant and Christopher A. Stewart, songwriters (Beyoncé)
“Easy on Me” — Adele Adkins and Greg Kurstin, songwriters (Adele)
“God Did” — Tarik Azzouz, E. Blackmon, Khaled Khaled, F. LeBlanc, Shawn Carter, John Stephens, Dwayne Carter, William Roberts and Nicholas Warwar, songwriters (DJ Khaled Featuring Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z, John Legend and Fridayy)
“The Heart Part 5″ — Jake Kosich, Johnny Kosich, Kendrick Lamar and Matt Schaeffer, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar)
“Just Like That” — Bonnie Raitt, songwriter (Bonnie Raitt)

Best New Artist:

Omar Apollo
Domi & JD Beck
Muni Long
Samara Joy
Tobe Nwigwe
Molly Tuttle
Wet Leg

The broadcast will air tonight, live from Arena in Los Angeles.

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock