Wynonna Judd And Trisha Yearwood To Release Duet Of “Cry Myself To Sleep” For ‘A Tribute To The Judds’ Album This Friday

Wynonna country music
Jim Wright/Russ Harrington

Wynonna Judd and Trisha Yearwood are a dream team.

In honor of the The Judds’ 40th anniversary, a star-studded list of country artists are teaming up to release their versions of 14 of Naomi and Wynonna’s biggest hits in the form of a tribute album called A Tribute To The Judds.

Naomi tragically passed away last August, but her daughter Wynonna will be featured on the star-studded tracklist, along with Dolly Parton, Ashley McBryde, Barnett, Lynne, and West, Blake Shelton, Carl Perkins, Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Ella Langley, Gabby Barrett, Gwen Stefani, Jamey Johnson, Jelly Roll, Jennifer Nettles, K. Michelle, Lainey Wilson, Leanne Rimes, Megan Moroney, Molly Tuttle, O.N.E. The Duo, Raul Malo, Reba McEntire, Rob Ickes, Shelly Fairchild, Sonya Isaacs, The Fisk Jubilee Singers, Trey Hensley, Trisha Yearwood, and Wendy Moten.

And this Friday, Wynonna and Trisha are teaming up for a reimagined duet of The Judd’s 1986 hit “Cry Myself To Sleep.”

Written by Paul Kennerley, the song was released in September of 1986 as the fourth single from their Rockin’ with the Rhythm album.

It ultimately became The Judd’s 8th #1 hit on the country charts when it peaked at the top of the US Hot Country Songs chart in 1987, and it spent a total of sixteen weeks on that chart.

Wynonna says she can’t wait for everyone to hear it soon, and these two are certainly a powerhouse duo that I know will deliver a kickass rendition of this 80’s country classic:

“I have a song coming out with Trisha Yearwood this Friday and my heart cannot stand it!!!!!!!!

So excited for you to hear our version of ‘Cry Myself to Sleep’ as part of The Judds Tribute Album.”

All of the songs on A Tribute To The Judds were developed by The Judds’ original producer and six-time Grammy award winner Brent Maher, outside of “Cry Myself to Sleep,” which was produced by Cactus Moser.

The 40-year mark will celebrate four decades since The Judd’s were signed to RCA records by Country Music Hall of Fame inductee Joe Galante, who also served as the project’s executive producer.

Wynonna says it’s been a privilege to have her friends join her in reimagining these songs, and she can’t wait for all of the fans to hear their take on the classics:

“To have all of these artists, most of which are my friends, come together and lend their voices and artistry to reimagine these songs, is so special.

These songs are so timeless and I am so excited for them to live on for generations to come.”

The record is due out everywhere next month on October 27th, and you can see the full tracklist below.

A Tribute To The Judds Track List:
1. Girls Night Out – Reba McEntire, Carly Pearce, Jennifer Nettles, Gabby Barrett
2. Mama He’s Crazy – Lainey Wilson and Dolly Parton
3. Why Not Me – Megan Moroney
4. Grandpa (Tell Me ‘Bout The Good Old Days) [feat. Sonya Isaacs] – Cody Johnson
5. Rockin’ With The Rhythm Of The Rain – Ashley McBryde and Shelly Fairchild
6. Young Love (Strong Love) – Ella Langley and Jamey Johnson
7. Have Mercy – LeAnn Rimes
8. Love Is Alive – Gwen Stefani and Blake Shelton
9. Had A Dream (For The Heart) – Wendy Moten and O.N.E The Duo
10. I Know Where I’m Going – Barnett, Lynne & West
11. Let Me Tell You About Love – Carl Perkins and Raul Malo
12. John Deere Tractor – Rob Ickes & Trey Hensley and Molly Tuttle
13. Cry Myself To Sleep – Wynonna Judd and Trisha Yearwood
14. Love Can Build A Bridge – Jelly Roll, K. Michelle, and The Fisk Jubilee Singers

“Cry Myself To Sleep”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock