Marty Stuart Announces First Album In Six Years, ‘Altitude’

Marty Stuart country music
Alysse Gafkjen

Marty Stuart is back with his first album in six years.

Announced today, his new record Altitude is on the way, which was recorded in Nashville with his longtime band The Fabulous Superlatives.

The the follow up to his 2017 Way Out West record, Marty says it’s his belief that real, authentic country music can still be made in today’s modern world, and he’s out to prove that once again:

“I’ve been quoted as saying the most outlaw thing you can possibly do in Nashville, TN, these days is to play country music. It can be done.

On ‘Altitude,’ there’s twin fiddles, steel guitar, and the legendary Pig Robbins playing piano on what turned out to be one of his last recording sessions. The song is a reminder to me, and to anyone else still interested, that there’s a few of us out here who still know how to make authentic country music.

I have an absolute belief that there’s a world of people out there who still love it, as my wife Connie Smith says it’s the ‘cry of the heart,’ Harlan Howard said ‘it’s’ three chords and the truth’ – that’s country music.”

We’re long overdue for some new stuff from Marty, and it sounds like he’s ready to come back better than ever with this new project.

He also shared the album cover in a post on Instagram, adding that he wanted to focus on the timeless themes of life that are just as relevant today as they were when Jimmie Rodgers was cranking out tunes:

“The beautiful thing about country music is that the blueprint Jimmie Rodgers laid down—rambling, gambling, sin, redemption, Heaven, Hell—it’s all just as relevant now as it ever was.

It’s the human condition, and if you’re honest about it and you’ve got a real band around you, you can make something that’s uniquely yours and stands the test of time.

Me and the Fabulous Superlatives are excited to announce our new album, Altitude, out May 19th via Snakefarm Records! Pre-order / pre-save / pre-add it at the link in bio/stories!”

The record is slated to drop everywhere on May 19th:

Marty and his band are gearing up for a tour that kicks off tomorrow in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and they’ll also be making a stop at Stagecoach Music Festival on April 29th.

This summer, he’s hitting the road with Chris Stapleton for a run of dates on his All American Road Show tour.

Altitude tracklist:
1. Lost Byrd Space Train (Scene 1)
2. Country Star
3. Sitting Alone
4. A Friend Of Mine
5. Space
6. Altitude
7. Vegas
8. The Sun Is Quietly Sleeping
9. Lost Byrd Space Train (Scene 2)
10. Night Riding
11. Tomahawk
12. Time To Dance
13. The Angels Came Down
14. Lost Byrd Space Train (Epilogue)

They also dropped the title track today, so make sure you check that out while you’re here:

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock