Ben Burgess Announces Debut Album, ‘Tears The Size Of Texas,’ Releases Solo Version Of “Heartbreak”

Ben Burgess country music

Ben Burgess has done it again.

The singer/songwriter immediately started stirring up some buzz after releasing “Tears the Size of Texas” a few weeks back.

Now, the man is back at it again, as he reimagined his version of “Heartbreak” today, which he originally recorded with Diplo back in 2020.

The song itself is an upbeat jam, that offers a unique perspective on how to handle a heartbreak, figuring out the good from the bad, and moving on in the best way possible from your old flame.

Burgess weighed in on the meaning behind the song:

“I feel like you can hear this triumphant thing on the songs that says, I’m here. It was about just letting go and finding my lane.

It’s where I grew up, what I’ve seen; it’s three or four-minute movies every track you turn. It’s a world and a sound.”

“Heartbreak,” along with “Tears the Size of Texas” foreshadow what’s to come for the longtime songwriter, who is finally beginning to break through with his solo career, as he officially announced the release date for his debut album Tears the Size of Texas.

The 10-track project was produced by Joey Moi, along with Burgess and Jesse Frasure, and is officially dropping on September 30th.

Needless to say, it’s been a longtime coming for the singer/songwriter, as he’s finally getting the national recognition he’s been working for his whole career, after nearly calling it quits for good:

“I’d given up on the dream of being an artist. I always wanted to do it and felt like I could, but the pieces never aligned.”

You can find Burgess on the road with Koe Wetzel this month, and then later this fall as he joins Wetzel and Jelly Roll for their Role Models Tour.

“I want the live show to stay true to the recording because we got the best of the best in the studio. I want it to sound like we’re cutting the record while we’re onstage.

I’m so excited to see where the music goes and what happens from here. Because right now it’s as good as it gets.”

Check out the full track list below:

1.Tears the Size of Texas (writers: Ben Burgess, Josh Kerr)*
2.White Picket Fence (writers: Ben Burgess, Kevin Kadish)*
3.When We Die (writers: Ben Burgess, Josh Kerr)*
4.Jackson (writers: Ben Burgess, Brandy Clark, Jessie Jo Dillon, Jesse Frasure)*^
5.High Road (writers: Ben Burgess, Ryan Beaver, Kevin Kadish, Randy Montana)*
6.Heartbreak(writers: Ben Burgess, Jacob Durrett, Ashley Gorley)*
7.Kill A Man (writers: Ben Burgess, Kevin Kadish)*
8.Sick and Tired (writers: Ben Burgess, Jacob Davis, Josh Kerr)*
9.Started A Band (writers: Ben Burgess, Chris LaCorte, Hunter Phelps)*
10.Ain’t Got No Phone (written by Ben Burgess)+

* produced by Joey Moi
+ produced by Ben Burgess
^ co-produced by Jesse Frasure

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock