Kaitlin Butts Absolutely Wows With Release Of New Record, ‘What Else Can She Do’

Kaitlin Butts country music
Mackenzie Ryan

What Else Can She Do is everything I hoped it would be and more.

Kaitlin Butts’ brand new album is out today, and she packs a whole lot of life into the short, 7-song tracklist.

The Oklahoma native doesn’t hold back, either, as she tells the stores of women from all different walks of life, many of whom find themselves in varied situations dealing with similar problems.

She says she pulled from personal experience and women in her own circle to bring these songs to life:

“These songs are all stories of different women facing the question: what else can she do? Based on her circumstances, what choices does she have, right or wrong? 

I don’t think that life is all that pretty sometimes, and it comes with pain and pushing through hard times, being stagnant, going through the motions, not knowing what to do, or just being flat out angry with whatever life has put on your plate.”

Of course, like any bona fide songwriter, she also sees parts of herself in every story she tells:

“I see myself in all of these women in these stories. I see these women in my friends and family all around me going through divorce, abuse, infidelity, financial instability, addiction, generational trauma, family issues, and life-altering tough times, but somehow are still resilient and come out on the other side okay.

I hope this album makes you feel seen and comforts you in times of darkness. Know you are never alone and it won’t always be this way.”

My very favorite song (so far), is called “She’s Using,” which is about how a women finds herself using anything everything she possibly can to numb the pain of all the shit life has put her through:

Another great one to check out is called “Bored if I Don’t” (one she’s performed live before), that instantly reminded me of Kacey Musgraves’ “Merry Go ‘Round”.

The narrator finds herself caught between a rock and hard place after getting married too young and settling down when she wasn’t really ready yet. She admits that she resorts to cheating as a way to momentarily escape the emptiness in her life, and as Kaitlin puts it, “I’m damned if I do, and bored if I don’t”.

It doesn’t get much more honest than that…

She also featured a fantastic cover of Lead Belly’s “In The Pines”:

But don’t just take my word for it, make sure you check out the entire record, because it’s as well-crafted and high quality as they come.

Kaitlin is someone you’re gonna want to have on your radar… talent like hers deserves to be heard, and this is just the beginning.

What Else Can She Do tracklist:

1. It Won’t Always Be This Way
2. Bored If I Don’t
3. What Else Can She Do
4. Jackson
5. She’s Using
6. Blood
7. In The Pines

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock