Cody Johnson Announces Release Date For Upcoming Double Album – And Drops Two New Tracks

Cody Johnson country music

We have a release date.

If you remember back in May, Cody Johnson announced right here on the Whiskey Riff Raff podcast that his next project was going to be an 18-song double album, Human: The Double Album.

According to CoJo, the new project would be “an 18-song setlist” just like he would play live. And he’s been dropping two songs, one from Side A and one from Side B, each month to get us ready for the full double album.

We knew he would be releasing the full album, with the remaining 9 songs, sometime in October. But today, he made it official: Human: The Double Album is coming October 8.

The album is full of songs that were originally rejected by other Nashville artists for being what Cody considers “too country for country.”

Talking about the songs on the new project, Cody said:

“There was too much good out there to let go of, so I just said, ‘We’re going to cut all of them.’ There are ones I wrote on, there are ones I didn’t write on, and there are ones that I wish I’d written. I addressed things personally with this music and when people listen to Human, they are going to hear a lot more of me being me. I am finally comfortable with myself and able to share that with my fans.”

Along with the announcement of the release date, CoJo also gave us two more songs from the upcoming album with “Treasure” and “Son of a Ramblin’ Man.”

“Treasure” was written by Matt Rogers, who’s also written hits like Randy Houser’s “We Went” and “The Long Way” for Brett Eldredge (and he also wrote one of my favorite Justin Moore songs, “Hell On a Highway”). The song is a reminder of the age-old wisdom that beauty is in the eye of the beholder:

“Put aside the way that some things shimmer
Beauty’s in the heart and not the eye
Dust has always been our kind of glitter
Not all treasure has to shine”

And with “Son of a Ramblin’ Man,” CoJo puts his Texas spin on a song that was first written and recorded by Vince Gill back in 2006.

With the release of these two, we’ve now heard half of the new double album – and now we only have to wait about a month to hear the other half.

Mark your calendars folks, October 8th is gonna be a good one.

Here’s the full tracklist for Human:

  1. “Human” – Tony Lane, Travis Meadows
  2. “Honky Tonk Hardwood Floors” – Carson Chamberlain, Wyatt McCubbin, Michael White
  3. “Sad Songs and Waltzes” – Willie Nelson
  4. “’Til You Can’t” – Matt Rogers, Ben Stennis
  5. “God Bless the Boy (Cori’s Song)” – Barrett Baber, Terri Jo Box, Scott Sean White
  6. “Known for Loving You” – Cody Johnson, Ben Hayslip, Trent Willmon
  7. “Driveway” – Lindsay Rimes, Matt Rogers
  8. “Son of a Ramblin’ Man” – Vince Gill
  9. “I Always Wanted To” – Tom Douglas, Allen Shamblin, Jordyn Shellhart
  1. “I Don’t Know a Thing About Love” – Harlan Howard
  2. “Longer Than She Did” – Eric Paslay, Paul Sikes, Matt Stell
  3. “Made a Home” – Cody Johnson, Jesse Raub, Scott Sean White
  4. “Let’s Build a Fire” – Chris Janson, Mitch Oglesby
  5. “When It Comes to You” – Jeremy Bussey, Tony Lane
  6. “Treasure” – Matt Rogers
  7. “Stronger” – Jared Elledge, Dustin Miller, Trent Willmon
  8. “Cowboy Scale of 1 to 10” – Cody Johnson, David Frasier, Trent Willmon
  9. “By Your Grace” – Cody Johnson
A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock