Lainey Wilson Crushes Covers Of Merle Haggard’s “Okie from Muskogee” And “I Think I’ll Just Stay Here and Drink” At The Opry

Lainey Wilson country music

I would listen to Lainey Wilson sing the phone book…

And the girl can sing the hell outta some Merle Haggard, too.

She crushed two covers of some of the The Hag’s signature #1 tunes, his 1969 Okie from Muskogee” and 1980 “I Think I’ll Just Stay Here and Drink,” as part of the Grand Ole Opry’s Merle Haggard tribute show which took place a few months ago.

Clint Black hosted the show, which also included great performances by Suzy Bogguss, Cody Johnson, Marty Haggard, Joe Nichols and Eli “Paperboy” Reed.

Of course, Lainey brought the fire and lit up the stage during her performance, and even remarked in between songs how much Merle’s music meant to her as an artist:

“Let’s keep this party going. I’m gonna tell you right now, he has blazed the trail for country music, for people who wanna say what they wanna say, how they wanna say it.

So I appreciate him so much. Come on now, let’s go boys.”

Amen to that, Lainey…

Make sure you check it out, it’s probably the best thing you’ll see all day:

Lainey recently announced her fourth studio album, Bell Bottom Country, which is slated to drop on October 28th.

She has released two great singles so far, “Watermelon Moonshine,” and “Heart Like A Truck.”

“Watermelon Moonshine”

“Heart Like A Truck”

Bell Bottom Country tracklist:

1. Hillbilly Hippie
2. Road Runner
3. Watermelon Moonshine
4. Grease
5. Weak-End
6. Me, You and Jesus
7. Hold My Halo
8. Heart Like A Truck
9. Atta Girl
10. This One’s Gonna Cost Me
11. Those Boots (Deddy’s Song)
12. Live Off
13. Wildflowers and Wild Horses
14. What’s Up (What’s Going On)


A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock