Hank Williams Jr. Releases “Jesus, Won’t You Come By Here,” From Upcoming Blues Album, ‘Rich White Honky Blues’

Hank Williams Jr.

Hank Williams Jr. just keeps crankin’ out heaters.

As he gears up to release his next album, Rich White Honky Blueshe’s already given us a taste of what’s to come with a couple songs, including “Georgia Women” and “.44 Special Blues.”

And for this upcoming project, Bocephus is taking it all the way back to his roots, as the 72-year-old grew up with a lot of influence from the blues genre, with most of that stemming from his father, Hank Sr.

A bluesman at heart, Hank Williams Sr. was taught to play guitar as a small child by a bluesman named Rufus “Tee-Tot” Payne, and with producer Dan Auerbach at the helm, Hank will pay homage to his roots, recording classics from Robert Johnson, Lightnin’ Hopkins, R.L. Burnside, Muddy Waters, Big Joe Turner, as well as a few from Hank himself.

And today, Hank Jr. is dropping a brand new song and music video from the project, an old Lightnin’ Hopkins song called “Jesus, Won’t You Come By Here.”

He says the song is a good old fashioned southern hymnal, and he wanted it to be a lighthearted, fun track that people can really enjoy:

“My brother Dan, the band and I did our thing in the studio for a few days, and this video gives fans a look behind-the-scenes… in a room together, just playing the blues.

The other clips were shot in a small town in Mississippi… just perfect for an old southern hymnal. It’s a reminder to slow down and enjoy ourselves.”

If you watch the video all the way to the end, he adds that he might be asking for a little forgiveness later on…

“I’m gonna have to go see the priest when I get through with this.”

Classic Hank… ya gotta love it.

The new album is slated to drop in just a few weeks on June 17th.

Rich White Honky Blues Tracklist:

1. .44 Special Blues
2. Georgia Women
3. My Starter Won’t Start
4. Take Out Some Insurance
5. Rich White Honky Blues
6. Short Haired Woman
7. Fireman Ring the Bell
8. Rock Me Baby
9. I Like It When It’s Stormy
10. Call Me Thunderhead
11. TV Mama
12. Jesus Will You Come By Here

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock