Steve Earle & The Dukes Are Gearing Up To Drop A Jerry Jeff Walker Tribute Album, ‘JERRY JEFF’

Steve Earle country music
Danny Clinch

Talk about one legend paying tribute to another.

Steve Earle & The Dukes are gearing up to drop a brand new album titled JERRY JEFF, a tribute to one of the greatest folk singers and songwriters to ever walk this Earth, who passed away in October of 2020 after a battle with throat cancer.

The album consists of 10 covers of Jerry Jeff Walker’s greatest hits, and Steve Earle & The Dukes dropped the first single from the album today, with a respectful rendition of Walker’s song “Gettin’ By.”

Slated for May 27th, his tribute album follows the band’s 2009 album TOWNES, a tribute to Townes Van Zandt, and GUY, a tribute to Guy Clark.

Earle himself weighed in on the records:

“The records were recorded and released in the order in which they left this world. But make no mistake… it was Jerry Jeff Walker who came first.”

Needless to say, Jerry Jeff was incredibly influential to so many genres, from folk, to Americana, to country, and to rock.

You can check out the full track-list below:

1. Gettin’ By

2. Gypsy Songman

3. Little Bird

4. I Make Money (Money Don’t Make Me)

5. Mr. Bojangles

6. Hill Country Rain

7. Charlie Dunn

8. My Old Man

9. Wheel

10. Old Road

And of course, the masterful rendition of “Gettin’ By:”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock