NASCAR Reveals Full List Of 2023 Hall Of Fame Candidates

Matt Kenseth NASCAR
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

NASCAR just announced the list of candidates for the 2023 Hall of Fame class.

They break the categories into three separate groups, which includes Modern, Pioneer (those whose careers began over 60 years ago), and the Landmark Award (those who’ve made outstanding contributions to the sport in varying roles).

Matt Kenseth, the 2003 NASCAR Cup Series Champion, has been added to the Modern Era list in his first year of eligibility. AJ Foyt, winner of the 1972 Daytona 500 along with his four Indy 500s, joins the Pioneer ballot this year with Sam Ard, who won the championship twice in what’s now the Xfinity series.

Former NASCAR president and current board member Mike Helton, as well as Pocono Raceway founder Dr. Joseph Mattioli, are nominated this year, too.

Voting for the 2023 class is currently slated for May 4th, with two inductees being chosen from the modern era ballot, one from the pioneer ballot, and one nominee will receive the Landmark Award.

Here are the full lists:

Modern Era:
Neil Bonnett, 18-time Cup Series race winner
Tim Brewer
Jeff Burton, 21-time Cup Series race winner
Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief
Matt Kenseth
Larry Phillips, Five-time NASCAR Weekly Series champion
Ricky Rudd, 23-time Cup Series Race winner
Kirk Shelmerdine, four-time Cup Series champion crew chief
Carl Edwards, 28-time Cup Series race winner and 2007 Xfinity Series champion
Harry Gant, 18-time NASCAR Cup Series race winner

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock