Grammy Awards 1997: LeAnn Rimes Becomes The Youngest Grammy Winner Of All Time At 14 Years Old

The 64th Annual Grammy Awards are tonight, and a number of country music artists are set to perform including Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton and Billy Strings.

Carrie Underwood, a seven-time Grammy winner, is up for Best Country Duo/Group Performance for “If I Didn’t Love You” with Jason Aldean, as well as Best Roots Gospel Album for her 2021 record My Savior, while Chris Stapleton is up for three Grammys himself.

Sturgill Simpson picked up two nominations for his new album Dood and Juanita AND Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions), and Tyler Childers and Billy Strings both secured noms, as well, in addition to The Marfa Tapes trio for Best Country Album.

Earlier today, we gave you a look back at Johnny Cash’s 1990 performance of “Folsom Prison Blues,” but now, we’re kicking it up to 1997.

In 1996, a young pop country phenom named LeAnn Rimes burst onto the country music scene with her debut major label studio album titled Blue.

Featuring hits like “Blue,” “Hurt Me,” “One Way Ticket (Because I Can),” “Unchained Melody,” and “The Light in Your Eyes,” the album went multi-platinum proving that the 13-year old star was talented beyond her years.

The following year, she was nominated for two Grammys at the 39th Annual Grammy Awards, the all-genre Best New Artist as well as Best Female Country Vocal Performance for her single, “Blue.”

“Blue” songwriter Bill Mack was also nominated for all-genre Song of the Year.

She would win both nomination that year, and become the youngest Grammy winner of all time at just 14 years old. And to this day, she is still the youngest individual Grammy winner of all time.

She was also the first country artists to win Best New Artist.

The following year, she performed her smash single “How Do I Live” at the 40th Annual Grammy Awards.

Sturgill Simpson, Tyler Childers, More Receive 2022 GRAMMY Nominations

The Grammy nominations are officially in and there’s a lot to get into.

First off, some VERY deserving people picked up nominations, with Sturgill Simpson getting two for his new album Dood and Juanita AND Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions). Tyler Childers and Billy Strings both secured nominations, as well as Chris Stapleton and The Marfa Tapes trio for Best Country Album.

And, after all the drama with Kacey Musgraves’ Star-Crossed album being banned from the country album category, she did pick up two separate nominations for “Camera Roll”.

Possibly most notably of all, though, is that Morgan Wallen’s Dangerous was not nominated in any category this year. That doesn’t come as a huge surprise after their recent announcement that he was deemed ineligible for best new artist prior to the release of the full list of nominations.

Eric Church didn’t receive any nominations for Heart & Soul, either, which is bullshit, and I thought he’d at least be nominated for Best Country Song with “Hell of a View.” But, he’s completely absent from this year’s list…

And, possibly most unfortunately of all, somehow, “Fancy Like” even picked up a nomination. We could sit here and pick apart each category all day, but overall, it’s not the worst nominations they’ve ever put out:


Best Country Solo Performance:

“Forever After All” — Luke Combs
“Remember Her Name” — Mickey Guyton
“All I Do Is Drive” — Jason Isbell
“Camera Roll” — Kacey Musgraves
“You Should Probably Leave” — Chris Stapleton

Best Country Duo/Group Performance:

“If I Didn’t Love You” — Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood
“Younger Me” — Brothers Osborne
“Glad You Exist” — Dan + Shay
“Chasing After You” — Ryan Hurd and Maren Morris
“Drunk (And I Don’t Wanna Go Home)” — Elle King and Miranda Lambert

Best Country Song:

“Camera Roll” — Kacey Musgraves
“Better Than We Found It” — Maren Morris
“Cold” — Chris Stapleton; “Country Again” — Thomas Rhett
“Fancy Like” — Walker Hayes
“Remember Her Name” — Mickey Guyton.

Best Country Album:

Skeletons — Brothers Osborne
Remember Her Name — Mickey Guyton
The Marfa Tapes — Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall & Jack Ingram
The Ballad Of Dood & Juanita — Sturgill Simpson
Starting Over — Chris Stapleton


A few of the other categories with Billy Strings and Tyler Childers:

Best Folk Album:

One Night Lonely (Live) — Mary Chapin Carpenter
Long Violent History — Tyler Childers
Wednesday (Extended Edition) — Madison Cunningham
They’re Calling Me Home — Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi
Blue Heron Suite — Sarah Jarosz

Best Bluegrass Album:

Renewal — Billy Strings
My Bluegrass Heart — Béla Fleck
A Tribute to Bill Monroe — The Infamous Stringdusters –
Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions) — Sturgill Simpson –
Music Is What I See — Rhonda Vincent

Best American Roots Performance:

Cry — Jon Batiste
Love and Regret — Billy Strings
I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to be Free — The Blind Boys of Alabama and Bela Fleck
Same Devil — Brandy Clark Featuring Brandi Carlile
Nightflyer — Allison Russell

Best Americana Album:

Downhill From Everywhere – Jackson Browne
Leftover Feelings – John Hiatt with the Jerry Douglas Band
Native Sons – Los Lobos
Outside Child – Allison Russell
Stand For Myself – Yola


Dolly Parton and Willie Nelson also secured nominations in the Traditional Pop category.

Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album

Love For Sale – Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
Til We Meet Again (Live) – Norah Jones
A Tori Kelly Christmas – Tori Kelly
Ledisi Sings Nina – Ledisi
That’s Life – Willie Nelson
A Holly Dolly Christmas – Dolly Parton


And the big four, which features Jimmie Allen securing a nomination for Best New Artist:

Record of the Year:

Montero (Call Me By Your Name) — Lil Nas X
drivers license — Olivia Rodrigo
I Still Have Faith In You — ABBA
Freedom — Jon Batiste
I Get A Kick Out Of You — Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
Peaches — Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar & Giveon
Right On Time — Brandi Carlile
Kiss Me More — Doja Cat feat. SZA
Happier Than Ever — Billie Eilish
Leave The Door Open — Silk Sonic

Album of the Year:

Evermore — Taylor Swift
Sour — Olivia Rodrigo
Happier Than Ever — Billie Eilish
Back Of My Mind — H.E.R.
Montero — Lil Nas X
Donda — Kanye West
We Are — Jon Batiste
Love For Sale — Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
Justice — Justin Bieber
Planet Her — Doja Cat

Song of the Year:

“Bad Habits” — Ed Sheeran
“A Beautiful Noise” — Alicia Keys feat. Brandi Carlile
“drivers license” — Olivia Rodrigo
“Fight For You” — H.E.R.
“Happier Than Ever” — Billie Eilish
“Kiss Me More” — Doja Cat feat. SZA
“Leave The Door Open” — Silk Sonic
“Montero (Call Me By Your Name)” — Lil Nas X
“Peaches” — Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar & Giveon
“Right On Time” — Brandi Carlile

Best New Artist:

Olivia Rodrigo
The Kid Laroi
Arooj Aftab
Jimmie Allen
Baby Keem
Glass Animals
Japanese Breakfast
Arlo Parks


A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock