Tim McGraw Releases New “Yellowstone Edition” Of 2001 Hit, “The Cowboy In Me”

Emerson Miller/Paramount+

Tim McGraw’s 2001 hit, “The Cowboy In Me” is getting a Yellowstone makeover.

Written by Jeffrey Steele, Al Anderson and Craig Wiseman, “The Cowboy In Me” was released in 2001 as the third single from McGraw’s Set This Circus Down album.

The song followed up “Grown Men Don’t Cry” and “Angel All The Time,” on what became a run of five straight #1 singles.

Stripping the song down to more traditional roots, the new version will be featured in the next episode of the showset to premiere this Sunday.

“Just released a new version of “Cowboy In Me” for Yellowstone! Listen for it in the new episode airing this Sunday night.”

Tim is of course starring in the new Yellowstone prequel series, 1883, taking on the role of James Dutton, the original patriarch of the Dutton family and great grandfather of Kevin Costner’s character, John Dutton.

The show will tell the story of how the Duttons made their way from Texas across the treacherous Great Plains to settle on the modern day Dutton Ranch property.

Tim’s wife Faith Hill is taking on the roll of Margaret Dutton, the matriarch of the Dutton family, while Sam Elliott will play Shea Brennan, the hardnosed cowboy tasked with leading the expedition.

Billy Bob Thornton, Isabel May and LaMonica Garrett are as set to star in the show, however today, the rest of the cast has been announced.

1883 is set to premiere on December 19th, only on Paramount+.

Also, be sure to check out our Yellowstone The Soundtrack Playlist, featuring every song from every episode, all the way through Season 4.


Apple Music

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock