The 2021 Heisman Trophy Finalists Have Officially Been Announced

A couple of football players
Kevin Cox/Justin Berl/Getty Images

The college football season is coming to a close, and we know what that means…

The finalists for the coveted Heisman Trophy have officially been announced.

In a year where there’s been so much madness in the college football world, where absolutely nothing made sense, there were really no clear cut Heisman finalists until the remaining few games of the year.

Not to mention, the preseason Heisman favorites like former Oklahoma quarterback Spencer Rattler and Clemson quarterback DJ Uiagalelei underperformed heavily this year.

Nevertheless, the last few games really solidified the four picks, and boy, did they separate themselves.

This year’s Heisman finalists include Alabama quarterback Bryce Young, Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud, Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett, and Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson.

Nearly all of those players sealed the deal after incredible performances in their conference championship games (except for CJ Stroud, since OSU didn’t make the BIG 10 conference championship this season).

Bryce Young had an astounding first year as starting quarterback for the Crimson Tide, throwing for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns. Not to mention, he broke the SEC Championship record for most passing yards, with 431, which may have given him the edge to win the trophy.

CJ Stroud really came on the second half of the season, and the Ohio State offense looked borderline unstoppable until they ran into the buzzsaw with Michigan in the last game of the year. He threw for 3,862 yards, and 38 touchdowns.

Next is Kenny Pickett, the Pittsburgh quarterback who feels like he’s been there for 27 years. The man improved year after year, and became an electric quarterback who threw for 4,319 yards and 42 touchdowns, breaking Dan Marino’s record for most passing yards in Pitt history.

Aidan Hutchinson also really made a push into the Heisman conversation towards the end of the year. He’s racked up 14 sacks, which is third best in the nation, and has wreaked havoc on opposing quarterbacks all season long.

The winner of this year’s Heisman Trophy will be announced Saturday at 8:00 PM ET on ESPN.

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock