Alan Jackson On The Sad State Of Country Music: “I Feel Like It’s Getting Further And Further Away”

Alan Jackson wearing a cowboy hat
Alan Jackson/Twitter

“Sweet country music, where have you gone?”

Funny you should ask, Alan…

Nineties country legend, mustache afficaniado, and depending on who you talk to… the damn GOAT of country music, Mr. Alan Jackson released a fantastic album in 2021, one affectionately titled, Where Have You Gone.

What’s the something that’s missing in that title? Classic country music.

Loretta Lynn, Martina McBride, Alan Jackson, and anybody will half a brain knows country music, or at least that stuff coming out of mainstream country radio, is pretty much dogshit. Don’t get me wrong, there’s some good stuff here and there, but overall… big pile of dogshit.

So much so, that Alan Jackson named his upcoming album, Where Have You Gone, after the sad state of country radio.

In a new interview with The Tennessean, Alan Jackson laments the current state of country music:

“I’m such a fan of country music. I just feel like it’s fading away, the real roots.

It’s always been up and down but usually there’s just a little bit of it hanging on. Now, I just feel like it’s getting further and further away, and it’s makin’ me sad.” 

Sad is an understatement Alan…

And he went even further with HITS Daily Double:

“It’s not old-school, it’s the real school. And I’m kinda pissed off like you are about what’s happened to the format, or whatever they wanna call it. I know I don’t have to make my records for country radio, so I decided to really…

It’s even a little harder country than what I’ve done, but it’s what I’ve always dreamed about doing. I was driving out here in the country, where I live, listening to the mixes, and it’s so real. I actually teared up.”

Thankfully though, Alan is coming to the rescue with a 21-song album of solid country gold.

The album features a couple of wedding tracks dedicated to his daughters, one dedicated to his late mother, a “That’s The Way Love Goes” tribute to Merle Haggard, and “The Older I Get,” which Alan released back in 2017.

Get excited people… Alan is bringing country BACK.

Where Have You Gone Tracklist:

1. Where Have You Gone

2. Wishful Drinkin’

3. I Can Be Something

4. Where The Cottonwood Grows

5. Way Down In My Whiskey

6. Things That Matter

7. Livin’ On Empty

8. You’ll Always Be My Baby (Written for Daughters’ Weddings)

9. Where Her Heart Has Always Been (Written for Mama’s funeral with an old recording of her reading from the Bible)

10. The Boot

11. Back

12. Write It in Red

13. So Late So Soon

14. This Heart Of Mine

15. A Man Who Never Cries

16. Chain

17. I Was Tequila

18. I Do (Written for Daughters’ Weddings)

19. That’s The Way Love Goes (A Tribute To Merle Haggard)

20. Beer:10

21. The Older I Get

Shop the hottest Best Seller from Whiskey Riff Shop

A beer bottle on a dock


A beer bottle on a dock