Taylor Swift Announces Another Surprise Album, ‘Evermore’ – Out Tomorrow

A person in a wedding dress
Max Wanger

She’s at it again.

Back in July, Taylor Swift set the music world on fire with the surprise release of her album Folklorea folk-infused, indie album she made during quarantine. If was a different vibe from Taylor, especially compared to her more recent pop records, but it almost also felt like a dim shadow of a return to country music. She even performed at the ACM Awards for the first time in 7 years.

And today, on her 31st birthday, she’s done it again.

“Ever since I was 13, I’ve been excited about turning 31 because it’s my lucky number backwards, which is why I wanted to surprise you with this now. You’ve all been so caring, supportive and thoughtful on my birthdays and so this time I thought I would give you something!

I also know this holiday season will be a lonely one for most of us and if there are any of you out there who turn to music to cope with missing loved ones the way I do, this is for you.

There are 15 tracks on the standard edition of evermore, but the deluxe physical edition will include two bonus tracks – “right where you left me” and “it’s time to go.”

The album, which will effectively be the second chapter of Folklore, drops tomorrow, December 11th. And according to her, it’s the first time an album concept has stretched beyond one album.

“I’ve never done this before. In the past I’ve always treated albums as one-off eras and moved onto planning the next one after an album was released. There was something different with folklore. In making it, I felt less like I was departing and more like I was returning.”

Tonight the story continues, as the music video for “willow” drops at midnight eastern.

I’m forever grateful to the following creatives who have helped and guided me to be able to direct my own videos: Cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto, producer Jil Hardin, 1st AD Joe ‘Oz’ Osbourne, Co-1st AD Ev Salomon, Exec Producer Rebecca Skinner, editor Chancler Haynes, set designers Ethan Tobman and Regina Fernandez and visual effects geniuses Grant Miller and David Lebensfeld.

Thank you to our medical inspector who made sure every precaution was taken for our safety. I’ll see you guys in the YouTube premiere page chat before midnight to answer some questions.

Evermore Tracklist:

01 Willow
02 Champagne Problems
03 Gold Rush
04 ‘Tis The Damn Season
05 Tolerate It
06 No Body, No Crime (featuring Haim)
07 Happiness
08 Dorothea
09 Coney Island (featuring The National)
10 Ivy
11 Cowboy Like Me
12 Long Story Short
13 Marjorie
14 Closure
15 Evermore (featuring Bon Iver)

Bonus tracks:
16 Right Where You Left Me
17 It’s Time To Go

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock