Al Pereira/Getty Images

Jason Isbell Announces New Album ‘Reunions,’ Debuts Lead Single “Be Afraid”

Your Monday officially just stopped sucking.

Jason Isbell, along with his incredibly talented band The 400 Unit, have officially announced their upcoming album, Reunions, slated for a May 15th release. Featuring 10 tracks, including the newly-released lead single “Be Afraid,” Jason called the new project “from start to finish, our best album yet.”

“There are a lot of ghosts on this album. Sometimes the songs are about the ghosts of people who aren’t around anymore, but they’re also about who I used to be, the ghost of myself. I found myself writing songs that I wanted to write fifteen years ago, but in those days, I hadn’t written enough songs to know how to do it yet. Just now have I been able to pull it off to my own satisfaction.  In that sense it’s a reunion with the me I was back then.”

Jason and company will also be joining Chris Stapleton and The Highwomen for a a show at Chicago’s own Wrigley Field later this summer.

Reunions Tracklist:

1. What’ve I Done to Help

2. Dreamsicle

3. Only Children

4. Overseas

5. Running With Our Eyes Closed

6. River

7. Be Afraid

8. St. Peter’s Autograph

9. It Gets Easier

10. Letting You Go

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit will also embark on a summer tour in promotion of the new album. Tickets go on sale this Friday, AKA Valentine’s Day, so if you’re looking to show someone you love them this year, skip the flowers and get them concert tickets.

Trust me, it’s the better move.

A beer bottle on a dock


A beer bottle on a dock