Cody Jinks Drops Surprise Song “Same Kind Of Crazy As Me” From Mystery Album ‘The Wanting’

What the hell is going on here?

We know Cody Jinks has been working on a new album, we know he finished it, we know that it’s called After The Fire, we know what songs are going to be on it, and we know that it’s supposed to be released on October 11th. We know all of this because he told us.

Then last night, Cody releases a surprise song called, “Same Kind Of Crazy As Me,” except that title is nowhere to be found on the After The Fire tracklist.

Where is that song found? On a tracklist for another Cody Jinks album called The Wanting, which is now available for pre-order on Amazon Music. The Wanting is set to be released on October 18th, one week after the release of After The Fire.

Is Cody dropping two albums next month? Your guess is as good as mine, but that appears to be the case. The wolves on the cover of The Wanting also match the wolf eyes on Cody’s Twitter header right now and the cover of the new song. “Same Kind Of Crazy As Me” is currently available on Spotify, but not Apple Music, nor has there been word from Cody about the new song. It’s all very mysterious, but either way, you won’t hear me complaining about more Cody Jinks music.

Stay tuned for more details, but whether it’s one album or two, October can’t get here soon enough.


The Wanting (October 18th)

1. The Wanting
2. Same Kind of Crazy as Me
3. Never Alone Always Lonely
4. Whiskey
5. Where Even Angels Fear to Fly
6. Which One I Feed
7. A Bite of Something Sweet
8. The Plea
9. It Don’t Rain in California
10. Wounded Mind
11. Ramble
12. The Raven and the Dove

“Same Kind Of Crazy As Me,” written by Cody Jinks, Greg Jones, and Ward Davis.

After The Fire (October 11th)

1. After The Fire
2. Ain’t A Train
3. Yesterday Again
4. Tell Em What It’s Like
5. Think Like You Think
6. William and Wanda
7. One Good Decision
8. Dreamed With One
9. Someone To You
10. Tonedeaf Boogie


A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock