Steve Earle To Release Guy Clark Tribute Album, Debuts “Dublin Blues”

Back in 2009, Steve Earle honored Townes Van Zandt with the release of his tribute album, Townes. Now, some 10 years later, he’ll do it again with another one of his idols, Guy Clark.

Due out March 29th, the 16-song album with also feature guest appearances by Rodney Crowell, Emmylou Harris, Terry Allen, Jerry Jeff Walker, Mickey Raphael, Shawn Camp, Verlon Thompson, Gary Nicholson, and photographer Jim McGuire.

“Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark were like Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg to me. When it comes to mentors, I’m glad I had both. If you asked Townes what it’s all about, he’d hand you a copy of Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee. If you asked Guy the same question, he’d take out a piece of paper and teach you how to diagram a song, what goes where. Townes was one of the all-time great writers, but he only finished three songs during the last fifteen years of his life. Guy had cancer and wrote songs until the day he died… he painted, he built instruments, he owned a guitar shop in the Bay Area where the young Bobby Weir hung out. He was older and wiser. You hung around with him and knew why they call what artists do disciplines. Because he was disciplined,” says Earle of his mentor.

The first track, “Dublin Blues,” was released today.

Guy Tracklist:

“Dublin Blues”
“L.A. Freeway”
“Texas 1947”
“Desperados Waiting for a Train”
“Rita Ballou”
“The Ballad of Laverne and Captain Flint”
“The Randall Knife”
“Anyhow I Love You”
“That Old Time Feeling”
“The Last Gunfighter Ballad”
“Out in the Parking Lot”
“She Ain’t Going Nowhere”
“Sis Draper”
“New Cut Road”
“Old Friends”

A beer bottle on a dock



A beer bottle on a dock